Subject Guides have a new location
If you have bookmarked this guide, you will need to update the link to the new Search for Information by Subject Area page. Choose your subject area from the list on this page.
This guide is no longer being updated, and will be removed on August 16 2024.
Return to the Library home page
Overview
Library Search is a good place to start searching for information (especially books and journal articles) because it covers multiple databases. Most of the resources included in the 'Nursing and Midwifery Journal Databases' box below will be covered by Library Search.
However, you may sometimes need to search individual databases to find specific types of information, or to use specialised search options designed to help you find information more easily.
The tabs above list additional resources for Evidence Based Practice, Standards and Guidelines, and conducting Systematic Reviews. If you require further assistance, please see the Library's Ask Us page.
Nursing and Midwifery Databases
- AccessPhysiotherapy This link opens in a new windowComprehensive collection of resources including books and textbooks, multimedia content including videos and interactive modules, and cases and study tools. In addition to physiotherapy, resources cover a broad range of related areas including anatomy and physiology, biomechanics, clinical sports medicine, exercise physiology, imaging and neuroanatomy.
- Health Collection (Informit) This link opens in a new windowPredominantly Australian content, including research articles, reports and case studies relevant to the therapeutic, diagnostic and preventative health fields, including aged care, mental heath, rehabilitation, child health, nursing and midwifery.
- Health & Medical Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowJournals covering all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, as well as additional consumer and health administration titles.
Help: Health & Medical Collection LibGuide
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (Ebscohost) This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals relevant to a range of medical disciplines.
- MA Healthcare Complete This link opens in a new windowCollection of UK journals focusing on clinical nursing; also includes titles relevant to oral health, pre-hospital care and veterinary practice.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowKey index of the health and medical literature, produced by the US National Library of Medicine. Coverage includes research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues and health care services.
- Nursing & Allied Health (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowNursing and allied health resources, including a wide range of journals, dissertations, videos and reference works.
Help: Nursing & Allied Health Database LibGuide
- Nursing and Allied Health Collection (Gale) This link opens in a new windowResources (primarily journals) focussing on the nursing and allied health fields.
- OVID This link opens in a new windowThe Ovid platform provides access to a range of journals, e-books and databases related to nursing and allied health subjects. Includes APA's psycARTICLES and psycINFO, Mental Measurements Yearbook, Ovid Emcare and JBI EBP (Joanna Briggs).
Note: The CQU Journals@Ovid collection contains full text journals and is a subset of All Journals@Ovid. - UpToDate This link opens in a new windowAn evidence-based resource for informing point-of-care decisions and providing recommendations related to patient care.
Drug Reference Guides
- Australian Injectable Drugs Handbook (AIDH) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive reference for the preparation and administration of an injectable medicine.
- Australian Medicines Handbook This link opens in a new windowDrug reference resource providing independent, evidence-based information for Australian healthcare professionals
- MIMS Online This link opens in a new windowKey drug resource containing both abbreviated and comprehensive medicines information, product images and consumer medicines information. Includes Don't Rush to Crush (accessed via the Clinical Resources tab).