Databases for systematic reviews
The databases listed below contain systematic reviews across most health areas. The Systematic Review Library guide provides a detailed overview of the approach and process of conducting a systematic review.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowCollection of databases providing full-text access to evidence based practice material. It provides evidence for clinical, technological & economic decisions made by health professionals & organisations.
Free to all Australian residents. - Embase This link opens in a new windowComprehensive index of the biomedical literature, including all MEDLINE content, with specific search templates for drug, disease and PICO searches. Recommended tool for systematic reviews.
- Emcare This link opens in a new windowEmcare indexes the international health literature with a focus on nursing, allied health, midwifery, health and healthcare economics, social work, psychiatry and mental health, and traumatology, emergency and critical-care medicine. Coverage includes 1000+ journals not included in Embase.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowKey index of the health and medical literature, produced by the US National Library of Medicine. Coverage includes research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues and health care services.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowKey index/abstract database covering scientific, technical, medical and social sciences literature. Includes article reference lists and citation links.
Help: Scopus LibGuide
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the Web of Science Core Collection (Science Citation Index; Social Sciences Citation Index; Arts & Humanities Citation Index; Conference Proceedings Citation Index; Book Citation Index; Emerging Sources Citation Index)
