eReading Lists

E-reading listss

 

COVID 19 update

Digitisation requests may not always be possible due to issues associated with the current Covid-19 situation.

Some requests may be processed if a book is available in a staffed collection (Melbourne, Sydney and Brisbane currently unstaffed) or via purchase. This can lead to longer than normal processing times.

Please contact my-librarian@cqu.edu.au for further assistance.

 


eReading Lists is a new system integrated with Moodle which provides Unit Coordinators and Lecturers an interactive and collaborative way of providing readings and other resources for students in one place.

Key benefits include:

  • Direct links to the CQUniversity Library collection, delivering robust links to quality resources
  • All items linked from within the Library collection are copyright compliant
  • Reading lists can be structured to suit your unit needs (by week, topic etc)
  • Reading lists can either compliment, or be an alternative to, prescribed texts
  • Citations can be tagged and annotated to highlight their importance or relevance
  • Resources from other sources are checked by Library staff for copyright compliance
  • Copies of readings not held in the Library collection (formerly CROs) can be requested by simply adding a digitisation tag and any additional details to a citation added to the list. These readings will be added to your reading list automatically when complete.
  • Reading lists are 'rolled over' to the next term a unit is offered - this may reduce administrative time when preparing units 
  • Analytics are available enabling you to see how items are being used and where early intervention may be required
  • Easy reporting of broken links.
  • Students can view online course materials on any device.

 

Read instructions

View a video

 

                                           Quick start guide
 17.11 mins

Getting started

 
Accessing your eReading Lists  
Creating an eReading List  02.00 mins
Associate your eReading list to your unit  
Finding lists from previous terms  
Manually adding an eReading list link to Moodle  
Where to add copyrighted resources  
Working on an existing reading list before the term roll-over  
Adding items
 
Can I include a PDF document in my eReading List?  
Adding items from the Library collection             02.00 mins
Adding items from the web 01.20 mins
Adding items from My Collection 01.16 mins
Adding items from Library Search  
Adding items from Library databases  
Adding items you authored or created  
Requesting digitised readings
 
Requesting digitisation of an item held in the Library collection 02.21 mins
Requesting digitisation of an item not held in the Library collection 02.15 mins
Finalising your list
 
Sending and publishing your list 01.14 mins
Adding links to citations/sections in Moodle  
More help
 
Adding collaborators 01.07mins
Adding public or private notes 01.06 mins
Adding sections 01.23 mins
Adding tags 01.09 mins
Copying lists and citations  
Exporting your reading list  
Installing Cite it! 00.50 mins
Organising your list by title or author  

Using My Collection

 
Using the Bag  
Using reports and analytics  01.08 mins
Viewing your list as a student  00.55 mins

eReading List Training for Term 1 2020

Developing your Unit eReading List

This session will step you through the development of your unit eReading list including; locating eReading list platform in Moodle, creating an eReading list, associating eReading list to your unit, adding various resources (library and external), adding Tags, requests, and creating a personal collection.

 

Register in Totara

 

 

Until eReading Lists are made available within the VET Moodle platform. 

VET staff will still be able to access and link to library resources.

Linking to Databases

Digitisation Requests (formally CROs)

 

FAQ's

Can VET teachers develop a reading list for their course?

Teachers who would like to develop an eReading list for their course or have any questions can contact the library by emailing my-librarian@cqu.edu.au

Where can I find training sessions?

Teachers can attend training on how to develop a eReading list.

Access the full list of session times and registration options in Totara and via the Learning and Teaching PD Essentials Calendar.

There are also instructions available on this page if you are unable to attend a training session under the Instructions tab.

Latest updates added to eReading Lists

Update Audience
Tags - tag a citation so that students can readily identify the resources with which they need to engage.  These tags are:
Prescribed Textbook, Supplementary Textbook, Essential, Recommended
Students

Tags -

Digitisation request - only visible for staff to request the digitisation of a resource not held in the Library collection

Personal Copy Available - only visible to staff indicating a personal copy is held for the Digitisation Request

Academic/teaching staff
Student Discussion - option to enable the Student Discussion has been turned on Academic/teaching staff
Publish list - you can publish your list immediately after sending it to the Library.  Any citations drawn from Library Search will automatically be copyright compliant (other citations will not be visible until they have been processed by Library staff and had their status changed to ‘Complete’). Academic/teaching staff
Export list, sections or citations in bibliographic styles to more closely reflect the referencing styles used at CQU. Note: CQU Harvard Guide must still be used

Academic/teaching staff

Students