This is the "Community" page of the "Borrowing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Borrowing  

Last Updated: Jun 6, 2017 URL: http://libguides.library.cqu.edu.au/borrowing Print Guide Email Alerts

Community Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Membership categories for other borrowers

There are three categories of membership for non-CQUniversity staff and students.

Alumni   

Community members

Students from other universities

Criteria

Any person who is a graduate of CQUniversity can apply for free membership provided they can borrow in person.

Applicants must show proof of identification (including graduate status) and current address in order to be issued with a library card and agree to abide by library regulations.

 

Any person who can visit a CQUniversity campus library in person and is 18 years of age or more can apply for membership.  Special arrangements are also in place for local high school students enrolled in a SUN (Start University Now) course. 

Applicants must show proof of identification and current address in order to be issued with a library card and agree to abide by library regulations.

Students who are enrolled at a University which is a partner to the University Libraries Australia and New Zealand (ULANZ) Borrowing Scheme  can apply for free reciprocal membership for borrowing in person.

Applicants must show proof of enrolment and indentification in order to be issued with a library card and agree to abide by library regulations.

Borrowing restrictions

Alumni are restricted from borrowing items in the Short Loan Collection, Distance Collection, TAFE Collection and other special collection items.

Alumni members can borrow in person from any CQUniversity library, however items cannot be requested from another campus.

Community members are restricted from borrowing items in the Short Loan Collection, Distance Collection, TAFE Collection and other special collection items.

Community members can borrow in person from any CQUniversity library, however items cannot be requested from another campus.

Students from other universities (Reciprocal borrowers) are restricted from borrowing items in the Short Loan Collection, Distance Collection, TAFE collection and other special collection items. 

Reciprocal members can borrow in person from any CQUniversity library, however items cannot be requested from another campus.

Membership period

Enrolled until 31st December of current year

Enrolled until 31st December of current year Enrolled until 28 February of the following year.
Access to ebooks, databases 

Licensing agreements with a number of our database vendors allow us to provide access to some electronic products.  Please see the Alumni Benefits page for more details.

No access possible.  Licensing agreements stipulate that only CQUniversity Students and Staff may use the electronic databases.

No access possible.  Licensing agreements stipulate that only CQUniversity Students and Staff may use the electronic databases.

Access to internet services

No access permitted.

No access permitted.

Reciprocal members can use their host university credentials to connect to EduRoam (wifi) on personal devices.

Access to equipment 

Alumni members are not able to use provided computer equipment, printing and photocopying services. Where free scanning is available material may be scanned to a USB or email address.

Community members are not able to use provided computer equipment, printing and photocopying services.  Where free scanning is available material may be scanned to a USB or email address.

Reciprocal members are not able to use provided computer equipment, printing and photocopying services.  Where free scanning is available material may be scanned to a USB or email address.

Access to facilities

Alumni members are welcome to use the open study spaces in any campus library however are not able to access group study rooms.

Community members are welcome to use the open study spaces in any campus library however are not able to access group study rooms.

Reciprocal members are welcome to use the open study spaces in any campus library however are not able to access group study rooms.

 

 

Borrowing Regulations: Alumni, community members and students from other universities

Alumni, community members and students from other universities are able to borrow up to 10 items from the general collection for 21 days. However they are restricted from borrowing from the Short Loan, Distance and Class Set Collections.

A borrower may borrow from the library under the following conditions:

  • students and staff of CQUniversity have prior claim on all library material at all times
  • renewals will not be permitted if the item is requested by another borrower

Borrowers are advised not to return material via a third person.

Overdue items

Library users with overdue items requested by other users will be blocked from borrowing further items or renewing items. Items not returned within 7 days of receiving Library notification to return the items will incur a $30 non-refundable fee per item.

Long overdue items

The Library will declare an item lost if the item is four weeks overdue. Should an item be declared lost, the borrower is required to:

  • Return OR replace the lost item OR pay a replacement fee of $112.45 (incl. GST)
  • Each item overdue for 4 weeks will also incur a $33 (incl. GST) non-refundable processing fee charge.

 Lost or damaged items

Should an item be lost or damaged, the borrower is required to

  • Replace the lost item (the Library will accept an exact copy of the item or a later edition) OR pay a replacement fee of $112.45 (incl. GST)
  • Pay a non-refundable processing fee of $33 (incl. GST) to cover administrative costs.

The Library will reverse the replacement cost if the item is returned in good condition within twelve months of the due date.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip