Overview
Library Search is a good place to start searching for information (especially books and journal articles) because it covers multiple databases.
However, you may sometimes need to search individual databases to find specific types of information, or to utilise specialised search options. The boxes below list databases and other specific resources that include content relevant to social work and community services.
If you require further assistance, please see the options on the Library's Ask Us page.
Key Databases relevant to Social Work
- Families and Society Collection (Informit) This link opens in a new windowPrimarily Australian content, including peer-reviewed journals and content from government and specialist organisations including the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare and the Australian Council of Social Services.
- FAMILY - Australian Family & Society Abstracts Database This link opens in a new windowAustralian Family & Society Abstracts (FAMILY), produced by the Australian Institute of Family Studies, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on research, policy and practice issues about, or of relevance to, Australian families.
- Humanities and Social Sciences Collection (Informit) This link opens in a new windowContent from and about Australia, New Zealand, the Pacific and South East Asia. Includes content relevant to Social Sciences.
- Sociology Source Ultimate (Ebscohost) This link opens in a new windowExtensive range of journals covering the areas of human behaviour and interaction.
- Humanities Source Ultimate (Ebscohost) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive database providing access to hundreds of journals, books and other published sources relevant to the field of humanities.
- APAFT - Australian Public Affairs Full Text This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, newspapers, conference papers and books relevant to the social sciences and humanities, with a focus on content related to Australia, New Zealand and the Pacific.
- Australian Institute of Family Studies (AIFS) This link opens in a new windowKey research body in the area of family wellbeing; all reports and publications are available online.
- Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW) This link opens in a new windowKey Australian government health agency, produces a wide range of publications (statistics, reports) relating to health and well-being
Additional databases
- PsycARTICLES (on OVID) This link opens in a new windowArticles published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and affiliated organizations. Includes access to the PICO Resource Centre to support PICO-structured searches on OVID.
- PsycINFO (on OVID) This link opens in a new windowAmerican Psychology Association (APA) database containing citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines. Includes access to the PICO Resource Centre to support PICO-structured searches in OVID.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (Ebscohost) This link opens in a new windowJournal collection covering topics including emotional and behavioral characteristics, mental health, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
- Health Collection (Informit) This link opens in a new windowPredominantly Australian content, including research articles, reports and case studies relevant to the therapeutic, diagnostic and preventative health fields, including aged care, mental heath, rehabilitation, child health, nursing and midwifery.