Subject Guides have a new location
If you have bookmarked this guide, you will need to update the link to the new Search for Information by Subject Area page. Choose your subject area from the list on this page.
This guide is no longer being updated, and will be removed on August 16 2024.
Return to the Library home page
Overview
Library Search covers multiple databases, so is a good place to start searching for information (especially books and journal articles).
However, you may sometimes need to search individual databases to find specific types of information, or to use specialised search options to help you find information more easily. The boxes below identify specific databases and resources relevant to information systems and information technology.
If you require further assistance, please see the options on the Library's Ask Us page.
IT and IS databases
- AccessScience This link opens in a new windowA wide range of resources, including articles, definitions, images and animations which explain core scientific concepts. Disciplines covered include agriculture, biology, botany, information technology, environmental science, food science, health sciences, mathematics, physics, psychology and neuroanatomy.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowElectrical engineering, electronics and computer science literature, including full-text access to all IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines; IEEE conference proceedings; IET journals and conference proceedings; all current IEEE standards.
- Applied Science & Technology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new windowJournals and magazines focused on artificial intelligence, applied mathematics, plastics, hydroponics, computer science, chemical engineering, energy resources and robotics.
- Computer Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowWide range of journals covering fields including information science, artificial intelligence, systems, software, technology, mathematics, engineering.
- Computer Science (Gale) This link opens in a new windowComputer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology.
- Telecommunications Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowJournals covering areas including data communications and transmission systems, computer applications, information science and theory.
Videos and tools
- O'Reilly This link opens in a new windowBooks, videos and interactive tutorials relevant to information technology, business, digital media and engineering.
- Gartner Core IT Research This link opens in a new windowProvides access to Magic Quadrants, Vendor Ratings, Hype Cycles and other foundational research to help IT and business technology decision makers. Covers a broad set of cross-industry technology topics.
Standards
- Australian Standards This link opens in a new windowAdditional software is required to view Australian Standards - please see Finding Standards for further details. If you experience issues accessing downloaded standards, please contact TaSAC.
Note: As from 21 September 2022, a personal registration and login is no longer required to access standards. Using the above link, enter your CQU email address and follow the usual authentication process.
Maximum Users: 10 concurrent users.
Licence Conditions: Electronic transmission of files, including sending by email, is prohibited.
Standards are available to CQU students and staff only for use related to their CQU study or research.
