Database terms of use
The Library's online resources such as databases, e-books and e-journals are covered by licences which specify the conditions under which the licensed material can be used. Library resources are provided to support academic research and study. To access Library online resources, you must agree to these conditions. They may not be used for commercial purposes, or for paid or unpaid work on behalf of an organisation other than CQUniversity.
Bulk, excessive or automated downloading of material, supplying licensed material to non-authorised users (including posting to websites) and actions in breach of the Copyright Act 1968 are not permitted.
About Library Resources
There are a range of resources available via the Library which you can use to find information, but the key collections (also referred to as databases) are:
- ebooks
- journals
- videos
The type of information you need, and any specific requirements outlined in the assessment criteria, will determine where you should look for information. General information about ebooks, journal databases and video collections is included in the boxes below, whilst the links on the left focus on resources for specific discipline areas.
eBooks
ebooks (online books) can be a good place to start looking for information – some of your textbooks will also be available as ebooks. The Library's main ebook database for your studies is ProQuest Ebook Central, but you may also find some of the freely available open access book collections (identified by the 
icon) useful:
- Milne Open Textbooks This link opens in a new windowOpen (freely accessible) textbooks published by the State University of New York.
- MIT Press This link opens in a new windowCollection of ebooks focusing on the Humanities & Social Sciences and STEAM (STEM + Art & Design). Available titles will display either a green square or unlocked padlock.
- OpenStax This link opens in a new windowOpen (freely accessible) textbooks published by OpenStax, part of Rice University. Content can be downloaded, highlighted, notated and printed.
- Open Textbook Library This link opens in a new windowOpen (freely accessible) textbooks from a range of publishers; includes some Australian titles.
- ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary ebook collection.
Help: ProQuest Ebook Central LibGuide
Journals
Journals are increasingly published online, and accessed via journal databases. Journal databases may be either:
- Discipline focused databases containing journals which focus on specific subject areas/disciplines.
Find journal databases relevant to business by checking the Business Databases tab on the left.
- Multidisciplinary databases include journals from a wide range of subject areas. They will often contain journals which are not included elsewhere, and are worth searching in addition to discipline focused databases when you are looking for information. Explore the databases below to see which ones are best suited to your assessment topic:
- Cambridge Core This link opens in a new windowPeer-reviewed, full text academic journals from Cambridge University Press covering a wide range of subjects in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a wide range of databases and covers many subject areas, including business, health, justice, science and technology, and country/region specific databases.
Help: ProQuest Central LibGuide
- Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new windowLarge multidisciplinary database with a comprehensive range of scholarly journals published by Taylor & Francis.
Help: Taylor & Francis Help Center
Video Collections
- Academic Video Online (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary video content drawn from documentaries, performances, feature films, interviews, newsreels and raw footage.
Help: Academic Video Online LibGuide - ClickView This link opens in a new windowLarge collection of curated video content with an educational focus. Includes both commissioned content produced in Australia, and content from free-to-air Australian channels.
Help: ClickView Training Channel
Note: you will need to enter your CQU email address to access the sign-in page.
