Using Google Scholar

This guide shows you how to use Google Scholar to find academic resources. It also shows you how to access full text via the CQU Library.

Finding full text at CQU using Google Scholar

GoogleScholar is a web search engine created by Google to locate academic and scholarly sources.

Sources include peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, book chapters, abstracts and articles from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organisations.

Note: Only some of the Library's resources appear in Google Scholar search results, however, it can be viewed as a complementary search tool for finding scholarly information.

You can set up Google Scholar to identify whether the resources it finds are held in full text at CQUniversity Library and/or any other libraries to which you have access.

To do this:

  1. Go to Google Scholar.
  2. Click on Settings at the top of the page (the wheel icon)
  3. Click on Library Links in the left hand menu
  4. Type Central Queensland University into the search box
  5. Tick the checkbox beside CQUniversity - View @ CQUniversity

Google Scholar library links settings

  1. Click Save

Now when you search Google Scholar, View @ CQUniversity will appear to the right of the results if CQUniversity Library has access to the full text.

 

A print version of these instructions: Setting up View@CQUniversity in Google Scholar (PDF).

Using the View @ Cquniversity link to access articles

  1. Click the View @ CQUniversity link to the right of the result you want to read
  2. You will usually be taken to the the database record. If you are taken to the Library Search record, use one of the Full Text options.

View @ CQUniversity links in the Google Scholar results list

  1. Log in to see the full text.

Accessing full text from your search results without View @ CQU links

You won’t be able to access everything in a GoogleScholar results list. And View @ CQUniversity doesn’t link to eBooks in our databases.

If there’s no View @ CQUniversity link to the right, there are a few things you can try:

  • Click the [PDF] link to the right.
  • Click the title in the results list.
  • Search for books and eBooks by title in Library Search

Research Higher Degree students and staff may be able to get items via Document Delivery if they can't access them via GoogleScholar.

More tips...

To search Google Scholar even more effectively, you can use the Advanced Scholar Search.

This enables you to use a variety of search tools, including boolean searching. You can also search for particular authors, and limit to specific types of publications, dates, and subject areas.

  1. Go to GoogleScholar
  2. Open the Hamburger menu in the top left (It looks like 3 horizontal stripes)
  3. Click Advanced search to open the Advanced Search window.

 

Using the advanced search boxes for your Keywords / search terms

  • with all of the words - This is like a basic search. It puts AND between the entries.
  • with the exact phrase - This is like using the double quotation marks for a phrase. Use this for one phrase. If you have more than one search term that is a phrase, use the double quotation marks around the words and put them in the "with all of the words" box
  • with at least one of the words - This is like using OR. Use this search box for synonyms
  • without the words - This is like using NOT to exclude terms you don't want.

Using the limiters

  • where my words occur - This allows you to search the text of the whole article for your keywords/terms, or to limit the search to the title field of records.
  • Return articles authored by - Use this to search for known authors by name
  • Return articles published in - Use this to search for known journals by name
  • Return articles dated between - This allows you to limit by publication year range.