Subject Guides have a new location
If you have bookmarked this guide, you will need to update the link to the new Search for Information by Subject Area page. Choose your subject area from the list on this page.
This guide is no longer being updated, and will be removed on August 16 2024.
Return to the Library home page
Overview
If you are looking for books or journal articles on a topic, Library Search is a good place to start. Most of the resources included in the 'Engineering Databases' box below will be covered by Library Search.
However, if you want to search a specific engineering resource, or are looking for a specific type of information, this guide identifies key resources across the engineering disciplines.
Engineering Databases
The databases below provide access to key collections of engineering literature, including journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, books and trade publications.
- AccessEngineering This link opens in a new windowComprehensive range of engineering resources including key handbooks, textbooks, videos, data and tools to help analyse data and solve engineering equations. Includes content relevant to information technology and aviation.
- AccessScience This link opens in a new windowA wide range of resources, including articles, definitions, images and animations which explain core scientific concepts. Disciplines covered include agriculture, biology, botany, information technology, environmental science, food science, health sciences, mathematics, physics, psychology and neuroanatomy.
- Engineering Collection (Informit) This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals, trade publications, reports and conference proceedings, with a strong focus on Australian content, Including Engineers Australia (EA) and the Institution of Professional Engineers New Zealand (IPENZ).
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowElectrical engineering, electronics and computer science literature, including full-text access to all IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines; IEEE conference proceedings; IET journals and conference proceedings; all current IEEE standards.
- O'Reilly This link opens in a new windowBooks, videos and interactive tutorials relevant to information technology, business, digital media and engineering.
- ASME Conference Proceedings This link opens in a new windowConference papers from 2002 to the present, covering topics relevant to mechanical engineering and associated disciplines.
- ASME Journals This link opens in a new windowAmerican Society of Mechanical Engineering (ASME) Transaction Journals and Applied Mechanics Reviews from 2000 to the present.
- Acumen Practice Notes This link opens in a new windowContent focusing on built environment sustainability, includes peer-reviewed papers, case studies and glossaries.
Note: The content of the Environment Design Guide is now available under the Environment tab in Acumen Practice Notes. - Austroads This link opens in a new windowOpen access guides, commentaries and reports on a range of road related topics produced by Austroads. Note: to access publications, you will need to create a login for personal use.
Standards, codes & regulations
Standards are a vital tool of the engineering profession and cover all areas of engineering practice. For more information about standards please see the Finding Standards Library Guide.
Please note that the content in these resources cannot be found via Library Search.
- Australian Standards This link opens in a new windowAdditional software is required to view Australian Standards - please see Finding Standards for further details. If you experience issues accessing downloaded standards, please contact TaSAC.
Note: As from 21 September 2022, a personal registration and login is no longer required to access standards. Using the above link, enter your CQU email address and follow the usual authentication process.
Maximum Users: 10 concurrent users.
Licence Conditions: Electronic transmission of files, including sending by email, is prohibited.
Standards are available to CQU students and staff only for use related to their CQU study or research. - National Construction Code of Australia This link opens in a new windowProduced by the Australian Building Codes Board (ABCB). Free online once you set up an account.
Volume 1: multi-residential, commercial, industrial and public buildings.
Volume 2: residential buildings.
Volume 3: plumbing and drainage requirements for all classes of buildings. - Queensland Building Service (with access to Building Code of Australia) This link opens in a new windowThe Queensland Building Service via Westlaw provides access to the Building Code of Australia as well as the Queensland Development Code, state and federal building legislation and is fully annotated.
- MSDS This link opens in a new windowSafety Data Sheets about chemical products (hazardous substances and/or dangerous goods) required for compliance with OH&S and legislative obligations related to the storage and handling of chemicals.
Access: A password is required for access. Please go to the passwords page
Library guide: Using MSDS Online