Overview
Library Search is a good place to start searching for information (especially books and journal articles) because it covers multiple databases.
However, you may sometimes need to search individual databases to find specific types of information, or to use specialised search options designed to help you find information more easily.
The databases on this page provide access to a range of clinical and health sciences content. The tabs above list additional databases which provide access to specific types of information.
If you require further assistance, please see the options on the Library's Need help? page
Clinical and Health Science Databases
- AccessPhysiotherapy This link opens in a new windowComprehensive collection of resources including books and textbooks, multimedia content including videos and interactive modules, and cases and study tools. In addition to physiotherapy, resources cover a broad range of related areas including anatomy and physiology, biomechanics, clinical sports medicine, exercise physiology, imaging and neuroanatomy.
- AccessScience This link opens in a new windowA wide range of resources, including articles, definitions, images and animations which explain core scientific concepts. Disciplines covered include agriculture, biology, botany, information technology, environmental science, food science, health sciences, mathematics, physics, psychology and neuroanatomy.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowCollection of databases providing full-text access to evidence based practice material. It provides evidence for clinical, technological & economic decisions made by health professionals & organisations.
Free to all Australian residents. - Coronavirus Research Database This link opens in a new windowThis database aggregates open content from ProQuest with content made freely available by members of the International Association of STM Publishers, including the Public Library of Science, BioMed Central, MDPI AG, Springer Nature Publisher Group, Taylor & Francis and The BMJ. Preprint servers include arXiv.org and BioRxiv.
Help: COVID-19 Resources - Coronavirus Research Database LibGuide
- Health & Medical Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowJournals covering all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, as well as additional consumer and health administration titles.
Help: Health & Medical Collection LibGuide - Health Collection (Informit) This link opens in a new windowPredominantly Australian content, including research articles, reports and case studies relevant to the therapeutic, diagnostic and preventative health fields, including aged care, mental heath, rehabilitation, child health, nursing and midwifery.
- Public Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowWide range of publications, including journals and dissertations, focusing on public health information and research.
Help: Public Health Database LibGuide
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowKey index of the health and medical literature, produced by the US National Library of Medicine. Coverage includes research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues and health care services.
- PubMed Central This link opens in a new windowExtensive open access archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature, developed by the US National Library of Medicine.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowA key index of the health, medical and life sciences literature, provided by the US National Library of Medicine. PubMed includes MEDLINE, and some additional content not covered by MEDLINE.
Help: Medline, PubMed and PMC (PubMed Central): How are they different
Videos, Images and Interactive tools
- MedPix This link opens in a new windowOpen access database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics.
Health Management Databases
- Health Business Elite (Ebscohost) This link opens in a new windowJournals focusing on health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management.
- Healthcare Administration Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowJournals and dissertations focusing on healthcare management, including business and personnel management, ethics, economics, public health and hospitals.
- Health Management (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowJournals, dissertations and theses relevant to the field of health administration.
Psychology Databases
The databases below focus specifically on psychology.
- PsycARTICLES (on OVID) This link opens in a new windowArticles published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and affiliated organizations. Includes access to the PICO Resource Centre to support PICO-structured searches on OVID.
- PsycINFO (on OVID) This link opens in a new windowAmerican Psychology Association (APA) database containing citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines. Includes access to the PICO Resource Centre to support PICO-structured searches in OVID.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (Ebscohost) This link opens in a new windowJournal collection covering topics including emotional and behavioral characteristics, mental health, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
- Psychology Collection This link opens in a new windowBroad range of journals focusing on psychology and related fields.
- Psychology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowJournals and dissertations covering clinical and social psychology and related disciplines.
Help: Psychology Database LibGuide