Grey Literature

You can find grey literature in:

• Databases such as Informit
• Archives
• Institutional repositories such as aCQUIRe
• Government and other websites

Some options for searching are listed below.

Grey literature indexing databases

• Analysis & Policy Observatory (APO) – Australian public policy and articles from academic research, government and non-government organisations.

• GreyNet International , indexes grey literature in a number of subject areas.

• OAIster Database – a union catalog of millions of records that represent open access resources. OAIster includes more than 50 million records that represent digital resources from more than 2,000 contributors.

• PsycEXTRA – a curated index of hard-to-find content from authoritative sources. Researchers will find information on resources such as the latest conference proceedings, reports, patient-oriented factsheets, monographs, standards and guidelines.

• Science.gov – access to over 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. federal science information including research and development results.

• WorldWideScience.org – global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases and portals.

Other databases that include grey literature in their content

Search engines and websites that give you access to grey literature.

These are some of the registries you can search to find out which trials have been conducted, or are being conducted.

• Cochrane Central Register for Clinical Trials (CENTRAL)

• Australian New Zealand Clinical Trials Registry (ANZCTR)

• NHMRC Clinical Trials Centre

• ClinicalTrials.gov

• Open Trials

• CenterWatch

• WHO International Clinical Trails Registry Platform

• EU Clinical Trials Register

Go to the Finding Theses page of our Theses guide to find out where to search for Australian and International theses.