Finding Company and Industry Information
Search Tips:
- Identify relevant industry classification codes. With industry classification codes, such as NAICS codes, you can locate industry reports and articles.
- Find industry associations. Look for an industry association website or browse industry reports in IBISWorld database.
- The Library has several databases that provide overviews and in-depth industry information, such as IBISWorld, Factiva industry articles and publications.
Databases for Industry information:
- ABI/Inform Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowKey business source, includes scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market and industry reports, business cases and news. Includes ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline.
Help: ABI/INFORM Collection LibGuide
- Business Source Ultimate (Ebscohost) This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, reports and case studies on all aspects of business. Includes Marketline company and industry profiles.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowComprehensive collection of Australian Industry Market Research, Industry Risk Ratings and Company Research.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowSelect 'Browse' to access the industry and company reports and market research collection.
Industry classification systems are used by government and business for classifying industries by numerical code. Many databases listed on this page allow searching by industry codes to create lists of companies by industry.
Use the following websites to find the codes for industries you are researching.
-
Australian and New Zealand Standard Industrial Classification (ANZSIC) 2006
was produced by the Australian Bureau of Statistics and Statistics New Zealand. ANZSIC codes are searchable in the IBISWorld Australian Industry Reports. -
Global Industry Classification Standard (GICS)
is a joint Standard and Poor’s/Morgan Stanley Capital International product. All entities listed on the Australian Stock Exchange (ASX) are now classified using the GICS classification system. -
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
was widely used US classification system which is searchable in many business databases, including EBSCOhost, Factiva, etc. -
Standard Industrial Classification (SIC)
was an early industrial classification system which was widely applied internationally. Replaced by the NAICS system. Many business databases are still searchable using these older codes.
- Australian Trade and Investment Commission (Austrade)It contains research export opportunities and logistics in global markets.
- Australian Industry Group (Ai Group)It provides access to some free online resources such as economic outlook reports.
- Department of Industry, Science, Energy and ResourcesIt provides Australian Government with strategic, cohesive whole-of-government advice on industry, innovation, science, and research matters.
- GlobalEDGE(Michigan State University) provides market potential index - (2021)
- Great American GroupIndustry Insights - Regular reports on key industries.
- NSW Department of IndustryIt provides access to reports including economic reports, annual reports and industry profiles.
- ReportLinkerIt is an AI driven market intelligence platform that accelerates access to global industry insights.
Encyclopedias and dictionaries offer basic, concise information about a topic and can be a good starting point for new and unfamiliar topics.
