Subject Guides have a new location
If you have bookmarked this guide, you will need to update the link to the new Search for Information by Subject Area page. Choose your subject area from the list on this page.
This guide is no longer being updated, and will be removed on August 16 2024.
Return to the Library home page
Overview
Library Search is a good place to start looking for information (especially books and journal articles) because it covers multiple databases.
However, you may sometimes need to search individual databases to find specific types of information, or utilise specialised search options.
The 'Arts and Humanities Databases' box below identifies databases which cover multiple disciplines within the Arts.
The tabs above list additional databases which are particularly relevant to specific disciplines/majors. If you require further assistance, please see the Library's Ask Us page
Arts and Humanities Databases
- Arts and Humanities Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowJournal collection covering a wide range of areas including literature, cultural studies, history, geography, anthropology and music.
Help: Arts & Humanities Database LibGuide - Humanities and Social Sciences Collection (Informit) This link opens in a new windowContent from and about Australia, New Zealand, the Pacific and South East Asia. Key subjects include: Arts, Business, Education, History, Indigenous Studies, Law, Literature, Media and Social Sciences.
- Humanities Source Ultimate (Ebscohost) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive database providing access to hundreds of journals, books and other published sources relevant to the field of humanities.
Useful multidisciplinary databases
- Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive, multidisciplinary database providing access to a range of resources, including full-text peer-reviewed journal articles.
- Academic Search Ultimate (Ebscohost) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive, multidisciplinary database providing access to a range of resources, including full-text peer-reviewed journal articles.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a wide range of databases and covers many subject areas, including business, health, justice, science and technology, and country/region specific databases.
Help: ProQuest Central LibGuide