Overview
Library Search is a good place to start looking for information (especially books and journal articles) because it covers multiple databases.
However, you may sometimes need to search individual databases to find specific types of information, or utilise specialised search options:
- The 'Agricultural Science Databases' box below lists databases containing agricultural sciences content.
- The 'Australian Websites' box identifies other key sources of information (research reports, data, statistics) accessed via the web.
- The Plant Identification Resources tab provides links to identification tools and nomenclature (naming) indexes.
If you require further assistance, please see the Library's Ask Us page
Journal Databases
- AccessScience This link opens in a new windowA wide range of resources, including articles, definitions, images and animations which explain core scientific concepts. Disciplines covered include agriculture, biology, botany, information technology, environmental science, food science, health sciences, mathematics, physics, psychology and neuroanatomy.
- AgEcon Search This link opens in a new windowContains working papers, conference papers and journal articles in applied economics, including the subtopics of agricultural, consumer, energy, environmental, and resource economics.
- Agricola This link opens in a new windowIndex of the agricultural literature produced by the US National Agriculture Library (includes international coverage). No full text available.
Help: AGRICOLA LibGuide
- Agriculture (Gale) This link opens in a new windowJournal collection covering both practical aspects of farming and scientific research. Includes some full-text, peer-reviewed titles.
- Agriculture Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowNorth American journals covering plant and animal sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming systems, agricultural economics and engineering, food and human nutrition.
Help: Agricultural Science Collection LibGuide - Applied Science & Technology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new windowJournals and magazines focused on artificial intelligence, applied mathematics, plastics, hydroponics, computer science, chemical engineering, energy resources and robotics.
- Biological Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals and selected conference proceedings, technical reports, books and patents relevant to biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology, ecology and agriculture.
Help: Biological Science Collection LibGuide - CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndex/abstract database of significant research and development literature in the applied life sciences, including agriculture, forestry, human nutrition, and the environment. Coverage dates back to 1973.
Note:The link above provides access via the Ebscohost platform. To access via the CABI platform, use CABI CAB Abstracts
. - ScienceDirect (Elsevier SD Freedom Collection) This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals and books covering a range of areas including plant science and biotechnology.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowKey index/abstract database covering scientific, technical, medical and social sciences literature. Includes article reference lists and citation links.
Help: Scopus LibGuide
Australian Websites
- AgriFutures Australia This link opens in a new windowRural industries-related research and development organisation, publishes an extensive range of freely available research reports, practice manuals and reviews across existing and emerging industries (formerly RIRDC).
- Australian Bureau of Agricultural and Resource Economics and Sciences (ABARES) This link opens in a new windowKey source of data and research on Australian agriculture, fisheries and forestry, including climate, biosecurity, water and land use/management. Publications include the Australian Crop Report and the Agricultural Commodities Report.
- CSIROSee the subcategories under 'Our research' and 'Industry Solutions' for a wide range of research and reports related to agriculture.