Overview
Library Search is a good place to start searching for information (especially books and journal articles) because it covers multiple databases.
However, you may sometimes need to search individual databases to find specific types of information, or to use specialised search options designed to help you find information more easily. The boxes below list databases and other specific resources relevant to psychology.
If you require further assistance, please see the options on the Library's Need help? page
Psychology Databases
The databases below focus specifically on psychology.
- PsycARTICLES (on OVID) This link opens in a new windowArticles published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and affiliated organizations. Includes access to the PICO Resource Centre to support PICO-structured searches on OVID.
- PsycINFO (on OVID) This link opens in a new windowAmerican Psychology Association (APA) database containing citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines. Includes access to the PICO Resource Centre to support PICO-structured searches in OVID.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (Ebscohost) This link opens in a new windowJournal collection covering topics including emotional and behavioral characteristics, mental health, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
- Psychology Collection This link opens in a new windowBroad range of journals focusing on psychology and related fields.
- Psychology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowJournals and dissertations covering clinical and social psychology and related disciplines.
Help: Psychology Database LibGuide
Psychological Tests
- Mental Measurements Yearbook This link opens in a new windowComprehensive guide to contemporary testing instruments; contains information required to evaluate test products across a range of areas including psychology, education, business, and leadership.
Health Databases
The databases and sites below cover a range of health and medical areas, and include content relevant to psychology.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowCollection of databases providing full-text access to evidence based practice material. It provides evidence for clinical, technological & economic decisions made by health professionals & organisations.
Free to all Australian residents. - MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowKey index of the health and medical literature, produced by the US National Library of Medicine. Coverage includes research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues and health care services.
- Health Collection (Informit) This link opens in a new windowPredominantly Australian content, including research articles, reports and case studies relevant to the therapeutic, diagnostic and preventative health fields, including aged care, mental heath, rehabilitation, child health, nursing and midwifery.
- Health & Medical Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowJournals covering all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, as well as additional consumer and health administration titles.
Help: Health & Medical Collection LibGuide - Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (Ebscohost) This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals relevant to a range of medical disciplines.
- Families and Society Collection (Informit) This link opens in a new windowPrimarily Australian content, including peer-reviewed journals and content from government and specialist organisations including the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare and the Australian Council of Social Services.
- Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW) This link opens in a new windowKey Australian government health agency, produces a wide range of publications (statistics, reports) relating to health and well-being
