Using PlantFile Online

Find information on plants, and their pests and diseases

PlantFile Online

PlantFile Online currently contains over 3,580 plant species and over 5,200 cultivars from both the southern and northern hemispheres, accompanied by 14,000 photographs.  It allows you to sort, select and identify commonly used plants, as well as common pests and diseases and their treatment. PlantFile operates on all web browsers and platforms.

Register to gain full access

You need to register for a free account to get full access to PlantFile.

  1. Go to https://www-plantfileonline-net.ezproxy.cqu.edu.au/subscribe
  2. Fill in the fields with a red star. It's best to use your CQU email address for this.
  3. Click Save. You'll receive an email to verify your account.

 

After registering, you will be able to:

  • see all of the records in the PlantFile database
  • create your own lists of plants from existing records and keep them in a personal storage folder
  • take quizzes to test your knowledge of the plant in your personal storage
  • use the data import function to create your own database of plants

Where to find PlantFile Online

Once you've registered, you can access PlantFile from the databases A-Z list.

  1. Go to the Library homepage http://www.cqu.edu.au/library.
  2. Click the DATABASES tile to get a list of databases.
  3. Click P in the alphabet across the top of list to limit it to databases with names starting with P.
  4. Click on Plantfile and log in with your personal PlantFile username and password.

PlantFile in a list of databases beginning with P