Open Access Resources

The following CQUniversity databases are only available to CQUni staff and students. However, they contain open access resources which may be useful if you require resources which can be accessed freely by anyone:

• ProQuest Publicly Available Content Database
   
• Many databases available via the Library provide the option to limit results to open access content (eg ScienceDirect , Wiley Online Library , Emerald , SAGE journals [select Advanced Search], Taylor & Francis Online , Scopus ).
   
• Many databases will identify open access content by attaching the open access icon to relevant records:

Please ensure that if you use open access content from these databases, the link is to the site from which the article is freely available (not from the database, which will still require a login for access)

The journal collections below are freely accessible:

• arXiv.org
  Archive of scholarly articles in the fields of biology, computer science, economics, electrical engineering, mathematics, physics, quantitative finance, statistics and systems biology. Please see the disclaimer on the site about the peer-review status of content.

• AustLII - Australasian Legal Scholarship Library
  Australian and New Zealand law journals (selected articles/issues).

• BioMed Central
  Originally focused on biomedical sciences, BioMed Central has expanded its coverage to include the physical sciences, mathematics and engineering.

• CORE
  Described as "the world's largest collection of open access research papers"; supported by JISC and The Open University.

• DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals)
  Community curated collection of open access, peer-reviewed journals.
  Note: Some titles limit the amount of content which may be accessed for free.

• Elsevier Open Access Journals
  Peer reviewed titles predominantly from the medical,biomedical, general, engineering, environmental and computing sciences; also includes some energy, transportation and economics/finance titles.  br /> Note: some titles are classed as "mirror" titles - the title, scope, editing board etc is identical to their existing print counterpart, but the content is freely available online. Mirror titles can be identified by the 'X' at the end of the title, e.g. Atmospheric Environment: X.

• Elsevier Open Archive Journals
  Open archive of 140 Elsevier journals; recently published content is subject to an embargo of between 12-48 months, depending upon the individual title.

• Emerald Open Research
  Research pertaining to the UN Sustainable Development Goals ( Sustainable Food Systems, Responsible Management, Education and Learning, Healthy Lives, Sustainable Cities, Digital Worlds). Content is peer-reviewed post-publication.

• IEEE Open
  Articles published under any of IEEE open access models (multidisciplinary, but strong focus on technology and science).

• Ingenta Open
  Journals and books from a range of scholarly publishers (use the menu to access the Journals list).

• MDPI Journals
  Multidisciplinary collection with a strong focus on the sciences and technology.

• JAMA Network Open
  Weekly, peer-reviewed medical journal publishing research articles and commentary on a broad range of topics.

• JSTOR Open Access journals
  Journals from the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Note: content published within the last five years is not included in the collection.

• PLOS (Public Library of Science)
  Peer-reviewed PLOS journals (ONE, Biology, Computational Biology, Genetics, Medicine, Neglected Tropical Diseases, Pathogens).
  The site also includes PLOS Collections (research related to important thematic issues or group projects) and PLOS Channels (13 curated "channels" highlighting the latest published content (research, preprints, commentary and news) across a diverse range of topics).

• Project Euclid
  Mathematics and statistics journals.

• PubMed Central
  Archive of biomedical and life sciences journals at the NIH National Library of Medicine.
  Note: whilst a significant portion of the collection is accessible immediately available upon publication, an embargo period applies to some titles. Journal List: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/journals/

• Springer Open Access Journals

• Taylor and Francis Open Access Collection – Open Journals

• Wiley Open Access Journals

BrowZine provides a uniform way of reading, sharing, storing, and citing articles. From within BrowZine you can add your favourite journals to a browsable shelf and get notification when a new issue is available. Browse by subject category or alternatively search by title, subject or ISSN.

BrowZine provides access to an Open Access Library. The library contains a range a publications available from open access publishers. For further information on finding open access Journals within the BrowZine app refer to the BrowZine library guide.