Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Access Resources

Open Access Textbooks

Some open access book collections have been established specifically as open textbook collections. Key collections include:

  • OpenStax opens in a new window
    Peer-reviewed open textbooks from the OpenStax initiative, founded by Rice University. Many titles include additional learning resources for both academics and students. Titles can be downloaded; content can be highlighted, notated and printed.
     
  • B.C. Open Textbook Collection opens in a new window
    Open textbooks created or adapted by BC Faculty
     
  • Milne Open Textbooks opens in a new window
    Peer-reviewed open textbooks from State University of New York faculty and staff
     
  • Open Textbook Library opens in a new window
    Open textbooks from a range of publishers and authors (not all are peer-reviewed during the publication process: the site includes user reviews), including key open access textbook publishers like Openstax. Includes some Australian titles.
     
  • Pressbooks opens in a new window
    Books (including textbooks) published on the Pressbooks platform by educational institutions. Includes some Australian university titles. 

Open Access Books

  • ANU Press Australian content opens in a new window
    Multidisciplinary, peer-reviewed titles from Australia's first open-access university press.

  • AOPEN opens in a new window
    EU-funded initiative to build a quality controlled collection of multidisciplinary, scholarly, open access content

  • Bloomsbury Open Access opens in a new window
    Focus: Anthropology, Film & Media Studies, Politics and International Relations, History and Education
     
  • CRASH opens in a new window (Centre de Reflexion sur l’Action et les Saviors Humanitaries, working closely with MSF)
    Focus: war and humanitarianism, medicine, public health and human rights
     
  • doab opens in a new window
    Multidisciplinary: academic, peer-reviewed books from almost 400 publishers
     
  • Ingenta Open opens in a new window
    Journals and books from a range of scholarly publishers (use the menu to access the Books list)
     
  • InTechOpen opens in a new window
    Multidisciplinary, scholarly
     
  • JSTOR Open Access Books opens in a new window
    Multidisciplinary: scholarly books from respected publishers
    Conditions of use: https://about.jstor.org/terms/#content-use opens in a new window (Note conditions re: linking to content)
     
  • MDPI Books opens in a new window
    Multidisciplinary, scholarly
     
  • MIT Press Open opens in a new window 
    Multidisiciplinary collection; browse titles or search all MIT Press then filter results to open access content
     
  • Monash University Press Australian content opens in a new window
    Multidisciplinary, with a focus on Australian art, history and culture; Education; Communication; Asian studies.
     
  • National Academies Press opens in a new window
    Focus: sciences, health, medicine, engineering publications from the US National Academies of Sciences
     
  • NCBI Bookshelf opens in a new window(National Centre for Biotechnology Information, US National Library of Medicine)
    Focus: books and documents in the life sciences, medicine and healthcare; includes international content
     
  • Open Book Publishers opens in a new window
    Independent open access academic publisher with a focus on humanities and social sciences.

  • Project Gutenberg opens in a new window
    Multidisciplinary: digitised books, most of which are in the public domain because copyright has expired. Any restrictions will be listed on the book.
    Conditions of use: https://www.gutenberg.org/wiki/Gutenberg:Permission_How-To opens in a new window
     
  • SpringerLink Open Access Package opens in a new window
     
  • Sydney Open Library Australian content opens in a new window
    Open access texts from Sydney University Press
     
  • Taylor & Francis Open Access Books and Chapters opens in a new window  
    Includes the Humanities and Social Science Open Archive, and content from a range of areas including economics, environment and sustainability, geography, history, law, media and cultural studies, politics and sociology.
     
  • University of Adelaide Press Australian content opens in a new window
    Small collection of scholarly titles published 2009-2018, many of which are freely available as ebooks