Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Access Resources

Search Tools

  • OER Commons opens in a new window
    Public digital library of open educational resources.

  • Mason OER Metafinder (MOM) opens in a new window
    Mason OER Metafinder searches well-known OER repositories like OpenStax, OER Commons, MERLOT but also sites like HathiTrust, DPLA, Internet Archive and NYPL Digital Collections.

  • OASIS opens in a new window
    Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier

  • BASE opens in a new window (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine, Bielefeld University Library)
    Search engine focusing on academic web resources; states that 60% of resources are open access.

  • Internet Archive opens in a new window
    Digital library aiming to provide "universal access to all knowledge." In addition to its archiving function, the Archive is an activist organization, advocating for a free and open Internet.

  • The Orange Grove opens in a new window
    Florida's Open Educational Resource Repository - strong US focus but also includes international content; there is a Higher Education Resources subset.

Other Sources

  • ABARES opens in a new window (Australian Bureau of Agricultural and Resource Economics and Sciences)

  • About Australia opens in a new window
    Overview, facts, statistics etc (Australian government website)

  • ABC Open Archives opens in a new window
    Selected ABC content made freely available to the public via flickr and Wikimedia Commons - check the conditions of use on individual items

  • ABS opens in a new window (Australian Bureau of Statistics)

  • Atlas of Living Australia opens in a new window
    Australian biodiversity data collected across multiple sources

  • Austlii opens in a new window (Australian Legal Information Institute)

  • Australian Institute of Health and Welfare opens in a new window
    Primary source of statistics, reports and initiatives related to health in Australia

  • Biodiversity Heritage Library opens in a new window
    Global collection of biodiversity resources (consortium of Museums and Libraries worldwide; also includes content from the Atlas of Living Australia)

  • Daniels Fund Ethics Initiatives - Simulations & Applications opens in a new window
    Team role-playing simulations from this University of New Mexico ethics initiative

  • Digital Technologies Hub opens in a new window
    Resources and strategies for Australian educators (school-focused)

  • EOL opens in a new window (Encyclopedia of Life)
    Hosted by the Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History, EOL gathers and shares data, images and videos related to life on earth

  • Google Arts and Culture opens in a new window
    Provides access to the collections of over 2000 museums and galleries; includes a creators' and artists' youtube channel and 'Experiments' which explore the connection between culture, science and emerging technologies

  • IMF eLibrary opens in a new window
    IMF publications and datasets

  • Lens.org opens in a new window
    Patent and scholarly literature search

  • MedlinePlus Health Videos opens in a new window
    Brief videos (1-2 min) focusing on basic aspects of human anatomy and disease

  • Merlot opens in a new window

  • MIT Sloan School of Management - Teaching Resources Library opens in a new window
    Case studies (accounting and finance, entrepreneurship, leadership and ethics, operations management, strategy, sustainability) and management simulation games. Educators can register to gain access to video teaching notes and introduction/debriefing slides for simulations.

  • OECD iLibrary opens in a new window
    Note: not all content is open access

  • OKR opens in a new window (Open Knowledge Repository)
    Publications (reports, technical and working papers, books, journals) from the World Bank Group

  • Remote Australia Online opens in a new window
    Evidence-based reports and resources about remote Australia.

  • Scilit opens in a new window
    Indexing database of scientific and scholarly literature initiated by the Multidisciplinary Digital Publishing Institute - a publisher of open access scientific journals.

  • Scootle opens in a new window
    Australian school curriculum-focused resources

  • Trove (National Library of Australia) opens in a new window
    Search results display a "freely available' subset (images, recordings, articles, books, maps, primary sources) - these can be freely accessed, but the option to reuse items will be determined by the source and copyright conditions of the individual item.

  • UNdata opens in a new window
    Statistical resources complied by the UN, including specialised databases external to the UN, statistics tables, statistics profiles of countries and regions. Content covers agriculture, crime, communication, education, energy, environment, finance, gender, health, labour market, manufacturing, national accounts, population and migration, science and technology, tourism, transport and trade.

  • The World Factbook opens in a new window