Law Resource Guide

This guide provides information on finding legal resources for courses in the LAWS Program.

About

Legal commentaries provide current information about legislation or cases.

Some commentaries focus on an area of law; others cover a specific jurisdiction.

Legal Commentaries - Lexis Advance Pacific

Lexis Advance Pacific provides access to legal commentaries including:

Australian Administrative Law

This service provides commentary on legislation relating to Commonwealth administrative law, and extracts from other relevant federal legislation. The commentary is written to help you understand the operation of the Commonwealth administrative review system.

Australian Current Law Legislation

Australian Current Law Legislation contains the latest amendments to all Acts, Regulations, Rules and other statutory instruments across all Australian jurisdictions.

Australian Current Law Reporter

Australian Current Law Reporter features a database of cases from 1976 to present: comprehensive digests of judgments from the High Court, Federal Court, Federal Magistrates Court and the State Supreme courts, with selected decisions from the Family Court, Land and Environment Court NSW, Administrative Appeals Tribunal and various tribunals. 

Cross on Evidence

This is based on the classic text, Cross on Evidence, and combines authoritative commentary (Vol 1) with the full text of the Evidence Acts and relevant extracts of other legislation of each Australian jurisdiction (Vol 2). Cross on Evidence expounds the civil and criminal law of evidence in all Australian jurisdictions and provides a clear explanation of the general principles.

To view commentary:

  1. Go to the Lexis Advance Pacific database
  2. Click 'View all AU publications' under the Publications section
  3. Browse by title to find the commentary you need.

 

Legal Commentaries - Westlaw AU

Legal Commentaries - CCH

CCH Intelliconnect provides access to a range of commentaries::

  • Australian Business Law Tracker, 2010-2013
  • Australian Child Support Commentary
  • Australian De Facto Relationships Commentary
  • Australian Commercial Law Tracker, 2014
  • Australian Company and Securities Law Tracker, 2010-2013
  • Australian Company Law Commentary Premium
  • Australian Competition, Consumer and Contract Law Tracker, 2010-2013
  • Australian Competition and Consumer Legislation: Commentary
  • Australian Contract Law Commentary
  • Australian Corporations & Securities Legislation, VOl 1: Commentary
  • Australian Employment and HR Tracker, 2010-2013
  • Australian Employment Tracker, 2014
  • Australian Fair Work Act 2009 with Regulations and Rules: Commentary
  • Australian Family Law & Practice Premium Commentary
  • Australian Family Law Handbook Commentary
  • Australian Family Law Tracker, 2010-2013
  • Australian Federal Circuit Court Practice Commentary
  • Australian Litigation and Court Practice Tracker, 2010-2013
  • Australian Worker Safety, Compensation and Environment Tracker, 2014