Overview
Library Search is a good place to start searching for information (especially books and journal articles) because it covers multiple databases.
However, you may sometimes need to search individual databases to find specific types of information, or to utilise specialised search options. The boxes below list databases and other specific resources that include content relevant to education.
If you require further assistance, please see the options on the Library's Need help? page
Education Databases
- A+ Education This link opens in a new windowCovers all aspects of education in Australia; content includes journal articles, conference papers, theses, reports, discussion papers and book chapters.
- ERIC (Ebscohost) This link opens in a new windowERIC (Education Resource Information Center) is a key education resource providing access to content in journals covered by the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index, and other full-text documents dating back to 1966.
- Education Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowJournals covering all levels of education; also includes dissertations.
Help: Education Database LibGuide
- Education Source (Ebscohost) This link opens in a new windowLarge collection of journals covering all levels of education and all educational specialties; also includes education-related conference papers.
- VOCEDplus This link opens in a new windowResearch database produced by the Australian National Centre for Vocational Educational Research, encompassing vocational education and training (VET), higher education, adult and community education, informal learning, and VET in Schools. Extensive Australian coverage as well as a wide range of international information; includes links to open access full text documents.
- Teacher Reference Center (Ebscohost) This link opens in a new windowIndex/abstract database for a broad range of education journals.
Curriculum Resources
- National Library of Australia Digital ClassroomResources aligned to the Australian curriculum for years 3-10.
- Scootle This link opens in a new windowA content discovery portal for education containing thousands of teaching resources aligned to the Australian curriculum, including learning objects, interactive multimedia resources and other digital resources.
Access: register via the following link: http://www.scootle.edu.au/ec/preregister.action
Psychology Databases
The databases are good sources of information about child development and psychology,
- PsycARTICLES (on OVID) This link opens in a new windowArticles published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and affiliated organizations. Includes access to the PICO Resource Centre to support PICO-structured searches on OVID.
- PsycINFO (on OVID) This link opens in a new windowAmerican Psychology Association (APA) database containing citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines. Includes access to the PICO Resource Centre to support PICO-structured searches in OVID.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (Ebscohost) This link opens in a new windowJournal collection covering topics including emotional and behavioral characteristics, mental health, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
- Psychology Collection This link opens in a new windowBroad range of journals focusing on psychology and related fields.
- Psychology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowJournals and dissertations covering clinical and social psychology and related disciplines.
Help: Psychology Database LibGuide - Mental Measurements Yearbook This link opens in a new windowComprehensive guide to contemporary testing instruments; contains information required to evaluate test products across a range of areas including psychology, education, business, and leadership.