Capricornia CQ Collection

About

The CQ Collection has an extensive collection of photographs relating to the Central Queensland region.

All of our photographs have been listed. These listings are available below.

Note: The Mount Morgan Mine Collection contains additional photographs.

Photograph Listings

Collection No.  Details
HIS Photographs 6000+

Some of these images have been digitised.

Portraits/Family Portraits 1169
Some of these images have been digitised.
Large Format Photographs 241 Photographs mounted on thick cardboard. Some are duplicates from the HIS Collection. 

RDHS Photographs

600+

Photographs from the Rockhampton and District Historical Society. Some are duplicated in the HIS Collection.

Photograph Collection 1230 Assorted images. Some are duplicated in the HIS Collection.
Box Photographs 380 This collection is made up of (mostly) original photographs. 
Morning Bulletin Photographs 162 "The Morning Bulletin" is Rockhampton's local newspaper. 
Farmer Photograph Collection 185 Edward E. Farmer was a photographer who operated out of 'Neckinger' in West Street, Rockhampton.
Archer Family Collection 400+ This collection includes a few sketches and drawings/magazine cuttings. 

Rees Jones Collection
(+ folder list)

640+

This collection contains photographs relating to Rockhampton lawyer, Rees Rutland Jones, and his family.  

The legal firm, Rees R and Sydney Jones, was founded in 1864 and continues to present day.

Negative Collection 157  Assorted images. Mostly of Rockhampton. 

 

Indexes to images in newspapers

 

The Queenslander Pictorial Index

A listing of images of Central Queensland locations which appeared in 'The Queenslander' between 1928 and 1934. A print copy of 'The Queenslander' is available in the CQ Collection.

Capricornian Image Index

A listing of images from 'The Capricornian' which relate to Central Queensland.

'The Capricornian' newspaper was published between1875 to 1929. From 1883, it included drawings and/or photographs. 

'The Capricornian' has been digitised by the National Library of Australia. Images can be sourced via this service.