Early Career Researcher Support

A platform for all your Early Career Research needs.

Managing your references

Trying to organise and manage your references can be an overwhelming task, but there are free tools available to help you. The time spent at the beginning of your research in selecting and setting up reference management software, can prevent stress and save you time in the future.

As well as helping you to manage your references, reference management software can be used to:

  • generate citations and bibliographies in the style you prefer
  • share collections of references with others
  • sync references across multiple devices
  • store PDFs in reference records

Endnote

EndNote is a bibliographic management software that allows you to organise references, PDFs and other files into a searchable database and create bibliographies and in-text citations in your document, with automatic formatting to your selected style

The EndNote library guide provides an overview of Endnote's features and capabilities.

Access and downloads

Download EndNote (CQU's site license covers students and staff)

Help

Help is available from the EndNote library guide, and through the Library's Ask A Librarian service.

Zotero

Zotero is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organise, cite and share your research sources. You can add PDFs, images, audio and video files. Each user receives 300 MB of free storage. Additional storage is available for purchase.

Access and downloads

 

Zotero help

Help is available from Zotero’s website opens in a new window.

Zotero user guide opens in a new window This guide can be translated into 16 other languages:
English (en), Czech (cs), German (de), Spanish (es), Persian / Farsi (fa), French (fr), Indonesian (id), Italian (it), Japanese (ja), Korean (ko), Polish (pl), Portuguese (pt), Russian (ru), Slovenian (sl), Swedish (sv), Turkish (tr), and Mandarin Chinese (zh).

Language options for translating instructions

 

Reminder – CQUniversity does not provide assistance with this software.

Mendeley

Mendeley is a reference manager as well as an academic social network. Your are able to create a library of references, cite as you write and read and annotate PDFs.

  • There is a free version which you can continue using after you graduate. Each user receives 1 GB storage, additional storage and features are available for purchase.
  • There is a subscription version, with extra storage, which current students and staff can access vis the Library's subscription to Elsevier. If you have a Scopus or SciVal account for saving searches, creating alerts or managing your author profile, you can use this to access Mendeley. If you don't already have one, use the Create Account button in the top right of the Scopus opens in a new window or SciVal opens in a new window databases.

Access and downloads

 

Mendeley help

View help guides and video tutorials from:

 

Reminder - CQUniversity does not provide assistance with this software.