Library Search

Find a specific newspaper article when you have the citation details

You can use Library Search to look for a specific article when you have the reference details.

For example:

Sloan, J. (2020, May 26). Employers to end up as jobseekers. The Australian, 10.

 

  1. Open the Newspaper Articles search in Library Search.
  2. Type the article title into the Library Search box.

Example of a search for a known newspaper article

  1. Click the magnifying glass icon to search.
  2. Click the article title to open the record.

newspaper article search results

  1. Go to the View Online section.
  2. Click the database name to open the article in the database.

The link to the newspaper article

 

Note: If you start your search on the Library home page, you will need to remove the exclusion filter for Newspaper articles from the Active filters in the menu to the right of the results list. Then you can select Newspaper Articles under Content Type in the filter menu.

Find newspaper articles on a topic

You can use Library Search and Library databases to find articles on a topic.

This example uses Library Search.

  1. Open the Newspaper Articles search in Library Search.
  2. Type your keywords into the Library Search box.

newspaper article search for employ and graduates

  1. Click the magnifying glass icon to search.
  2. If you need to narrow your search, add more search terms and click the magnifying glass icon again.
  3. If you need articles from a specific date range, scroll down the right hand menu to find the Publication Date filter.
  4. Type the start year into the left hand box.
  5. Click Refine.

Example of publication date limit

  1. Click an article title to open the record.
  2. Go to the View Online section to see which databases have the article.
  3. Click the database name to open the database record for the article.

 

Note: If you start your search on the Library home page, you will need to remove the exclusion filter for Newspaper articles from the Active filters in the menu to the right of the results list. Then you can select Newspaper Articles under Content Type in the filter menu.

Find a specific newspaper to search in

If you have been asked to find articles in a particular newspaper, you can use Library Search to find out which databases the newspaper is held in.

  1. Go to the Library home page.
  2. Type the name of the newspaper into the Library Search box and click Search.

A search for a newspaper in Library Search

  1. Click the name of the newspaper in the results list to open the record.

Newspaper in Library Search results list

  1. Look in the View Online section to see which databases the newspaper is in.
  2. Click the name of the database to open the record for that newspaper.

Links to newspaper in databases

 

There are usually 2 search options

  • A search within this publication link or search box so you can search on a topic.
  • A list of years that expands so you can limit by month and day so you can search for articles on a specific date.