Library Search

Google Scholar vs Google vs Library Search

What is Google Scholar?

Google Scholar is not a database. It is a specialized search engine that looks for scholarly materials that may be available online. When using Google Scholar you might not get access to the full text.

 

Why do so many people use Google Scholar if it doesn't have many full-text articles?

Students use Google Scholar AND Library Search. They link the two together. By doing this you can use Google Scholar as the search tool and link through to CQUniversity Library resources so you can get access to the full text articles. The Library has paid for this access, so you can use it for free as a CQUniversity student or staff member.

 

But when should I use Google Scholar? When should I use Library Search?  I'm finding this a bit confusing.

If you search only Google Scholar, you may miss some great sources. It is also important to know that Google Scholar usually does not indicate what databases and repositories it is searching. You may be missing out on a huge collection of digital literature simply because it is not available through Google Scholar. Google Scholar is a great place to start looking for journal articles, and it’s easy to use, but if you are doing in-depth research you might want to use Library Search or the subject specific databases.

 

Comparison between Google and Google Scholar

 

What about Library Search? Is that a database too?

Library Search is all the information from the databases we have access to, combined with quality open access scholarly content. We've put this massive amount of information into one simple tool. This tool provides filtering options so you can do a targeted search. We have done this to make it easier for you to locate scholarly information that will always be full text.

 

Library Search sounds awesome, but because I'm used to Google, I still want to use Google Scholar, so how do I do that linking thing to get the full text articles?

It's easy. Follow these steps, go to

  1. Google Scholar
  2. Settings
  3. Library Links
  4. Type in CQUniversity
  5. Tick the CQUniversity options that appear
  6. Save

 

Google Scholar Settings page

 

1a. Please rate us so that we know if we're giving you the right information. This information was:
Very helpful: 36 votes (75%)
Good: 7 votes (14.58%)
OK, but I'm still a bit confused: 5 votes (10.42%)
Not helpful: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 48