Learning Objects

It is important that you keep a record of all the information you find and want to use in your assessment items. One way to do this is to email yourself your results from your search. If the full text is available within Discover It! you can email the full text.

Plagiarism is the deliberate or inadvertent use of another writer's intellectual property without proper acknowledgement.

It can be avoided by correctly referencing the sources of information consulted in producing an essay or report.

Plagiarism is considered to be a form of cheating and severe penalties can be expected if it is detected in a student's work.

For more information, see CQUniversity's Polilcy on Plagiarism.

Source:

Academic Learning Support 2008, Harvard Referencing Guide, Central Queensland University, Rockhampton.

EndNote is a personal reference database program. The main functions of such programs are to:

• maintain a personal 'library' of references
• download references from other databases
• insert references in word-processed documents
• generate a bibliography in the correct style for publication.

The EndNote LibGuide provides information on how to download and use the software.

Folders can be used to organise the resources you have found using Library Search as well as many other databases. You can add articles to the folder, but all contents of the folder are deleted when you close the browser window.

If you would like access to these folders across multiple sessions, you need to set up a personal account. Articles added to your personal account will remain in your personal folders until you manually remove them.

1. Click Sign In in the top right menu.

2. Create your personal account and save changes.

Saving articles to folders.

To collect several articles, click the Add to folder link at the bottom of each citation. To add all items on a page to your folder, click the Alert/Save/Share share and click the Results (1-10) link at the top of the menu. Result numbers to be added will change as you page through the list of results.

As you add the articles to the folder, you can click the Folder icon (or the Go to Folder View link) and review which items have been added.

You can then print, e-mail or save many results all at the same time. 

Saving articles to a specific folder

If you have custom folders created within your personal folder, you can specify which folder you would like your articles saved in, when you click the Add to Folder link.

The article is added to the folder you specify.

When you click the Add/Remove link, the name of the folder which contains the article displays a folder icon.

• To move the article to a different folder, click the name of the folder you would like to move the article to.

• To remove the article from the folder entirely, click the name of the folder that contains the article.

Referencing involves acknowledging the sources of information used in a report or essay. Information is acknowledged in two ways:

• by in-text referencing
• by adding a reference list or bibliography at the end of the document.

Examples of in-text referencing, and reference list and bibliography entries, are available on the CQUniversity referencing website.

Referencing is required if you:

• quote (use the exact words of someone else)
• paraphrase (change the words of another person's ideas)
• summarise (provide an account of an other's ideas)
• copy (statistics, figures, tables).

Referencing stops you from committing plagiarism. It also:

• demonstrates the breadth of your research
• strengthens your argument
• enables the reader to independently consult and verify the information source.

CQUniversity uses two main referencing styles:

• Harvard
• APA

Two other systems are also used:

• Documentary-note (History courses)
• Australian Guide to Legal Citation (Law courses)

Tip: Check your course profile to ensure you are using the correct referencing style.

The Library has access to a wide range of journals which may be available online or in print (or both).

Sometimes, an article will not be available in full text in the database being searched.
If the full text of the article is not available, the Article Linker icon

should be displayed near the citation/abstract. Selecting this icon will initiate a search across other databases for the article.

Note: Not all databases use the term Article Linker.

In Discover It! the link will appear as Get this Article, and More full text options at CQU Library or Open URL may appear in other databases.

Selecting the Article Linker button will open a new window, with one of three possible responses:

1. The article will open directly in the new window.

2. A page will appear providing a choice of databases which hold the full text of the article.

3. A page will appear stating there is no online access to this article. To check if the article is available in print, click the link By Journal / Book Title to initiate a search of the Library Catalogue.  If the Library has access to the journal, then the journal title should appear in the Search Results list

4. To find out which issues are available, select the appropriate Journal Title and view the Holdings page

5. If the article is not available online or in print please contact the Library for further assistance.