EndNote

You can use the Configure Bibliography window to format your bibliography or reference list.

• To open it on a Windows computer, click on the arrow in the bottom right corner of the Bibliography section of the EndNote toolbar in Word.
• To open it on a Mac, click on the down arrow beside Bibliography in the EndNote toolbar.

Format Bibliography tab options

• Format document: The name of the document you are working in.
• With output style: Choose the referencing style you need.
• Temporary citation delimiters: These are the punctuation marks used for in-text citation place markers when you convert to unformatted citations for editing your document. The default is curly brackets {}. EndNote treats everything inside a pair of curly brackets as a citation linked to a record in your library, so if you are including mathematical expressions in your document, you will need to change the temporary citation delimiter to a character you are not otherwise using.
• Link in-text citations to references in the bibliography: If you tick this, it creates a hyperlink between the in-text citation and the reference in the bibliography.
• Underlink linked in-text citations: If you tick this, it underlines the linked citations.

Layout tab options

• Font: Choose the font to use for the references in your bibliography so they match the text in your document.
• Size: Choose the font size for references in your bibliography.
• Bibliography title: Type a heading for the bibliography section.
• Text format: Define the font style, size and attributes (bold, italic, underline) for the bibliography title so that it matches the other headings in your document.
• Start with bibliography number: If you are using a numbered style, you can choose the number to start at. The default is 1.
• First line indent: Set an indent for the first line of a reference if your chosen referencing style requires it. The default is 0cm.
• Hanging indents: Set an indent for all other lines of a reference if your chosen referencing style requires it. The default it 1.27cm.
• Line spacing: Set the line spacing for your bibliography to match the settings for the rest of your document as closely as possible. The options are Single, 1.5 lines and Double.
• Space after: Set the line spacing between references. The options are Single, 1.5 lines and Double.

For some assignments you may need to format your bibliography to group references by type. You can do this using the Categorize References function in the EndNote toolbar in Word. and assign references to them. It allows you to create the groups yourself and put the references into them. You can set the categories up before you start writing, part way through or after you’ve finished. You’ll need to double check that all of your references have been added to a category before you convert you document to Plain Text ready for submission.

Set the categories for your bibliography

1. Open Word
2. Go to the EndNote toolbar and open the Categorize References menu
3. Select Configure Categories … This opens the Configure Categories window.
4. Click the Plus sign beside Category Headings at the top left to add a new category.
5. Type a name for the category that you need, e.g. Books and e-Books
6. Continue adding categories until you have the ones you need then click OK to save them.

Note: To delete a category, click the minus sign beside the category name

Add references to a category

If you are grouping your bibliography by source types, click on the Reference Type column heading to sort into types first. That way you can work in batches.

1. Highlight the references you want for your first category.
2. Drag them across to the category heading. You’ll see that the category name now appears beside them in the Category column of the window.
3. Continue selecting references and dragging them across to the Heading you want them under until you’ve got them all under a heading.
4. Click OK. Your references list will now display references grouped by the categories of your choice. References will be sorted in alphabetical order by first author within each group.