EndNote

EndNote is a particular brand of content management software. It allows people to store bibliographic references in files that are referred to as libraries. Endnote can be used on Windows and Macintosh computers.

Insert a citation into your document

The Cite While You Write (CWYW) function allows you to insert references from your Endnote library into a Word document while you are writing. EndNote will build a bibliography/reference list for you as you insert citations. This list will appear at the end of the document. It will be sorted alphabetically by lead author surname.

Insert an in-text citation – (Author/s, Year)

  1. Insert your cursor where you want the citation to appear. You will need to leave a space after the preceding word.
  2. Click on Insert Citation in the EndNote toolbar in word. Choose Insert Citation from the drop-down menu
  3. The Find & Insert My References window will open. Type the author's surname, or some words from the title, or some keywords in the search box at the top left. Click Find.
  4. Select the correct reference from the list of possible matches that appear below the search box.
  5. Click Insert.
    The citation will appear in your document where the cursor was, e.g. (Smith, 2017). The reference will appear at the end of the document.

 

Insert an in-text citation – Author/s (Year)

Sometimes the author's names are part of your sentence and you need them to appear outside the brackets for the citation.

  1. Insert your cursor where you want the citation to appear. Remember to leave spaces either side of where you are inserting this citation because it is in the middle of a sentence.
  2. Click on Insert Citation in the EndNote toolbar in word. Choose Insert Citation from the drop-down menu to open the Find & Insert My References window.
  3. Type the author's surname, or some words from the title, or some keywords in the search box at the top left. Click Find.
  4. Select the correct reference from the list of possible matches that appear below the search box.
  5. Click the arrow beside Insert to bring up your options for formatting your citation and choose Insert & Display as: Author (Year)
    The citation will appear in your document where the cursor was, e.g. Smith (2017). The reference will appear at the end of the document.

 

If you click on an EndNote citation in your document, you will see that it is highlighted in grey. This indicates that it has EndNote formatting and is directly linked to your EndNote library.

 

A printable copy of these instructions: Insert citations using Cite While You Write (PDF)

Edit a citation to add a page number

  1. Click on the citation to highlight it.
  2. Open the Edit & Manage Citations window. You have 2 options:
    • Go to the EndNote toolbar.
    • Click on Edit & Manage Citations.

    OR

    • Right click on the citation.
    • Choose Edit Citations from the pop-up menu.
    • Click More...
  3. Make sure the correct reference is highlighted in the Edit & Manage Citations window.
  4. Go to the Edit Citation section in the lower half of the window.
  5. Type a comma space p. space and the number, e.g. , p. 55, into the Suffix field. The page number goes after the year in the citation, so it's added as a suffix. You need to add all of the necessary punctuation, including spaces yourself. EndNote will not automatically add them in.
  6. Click OK to close the Edit & Manage Citations window. Back in your document, the citation will now include the page number.
  7. Save the changes to your document.

 

A printable copy of these instructions: Editing citations to add page numbers (PDF)

Edit a citation to use an acronym in place of an organisation's name

Corporate authors such as companies, government departments and research institutes often have acronyms, e.g. the Australian National Data Service uses the acronym ANDS. The full name needs to appear in your reference list, but you can use the acronym for the in-text citations. The instructions below tell you how to edit the in-text citation so the acronym will appear in the citation, but the full name will still remain in your reference list.

To modify a citation to display the acronym:

  1. Click on a corporate author citation in your document, e.g. (Australian National Data Service, 2013)
  2. Go to Edit & Manage Citation(s) in the EndNote tool bar in Word. This opens the Edit & Manage Citation(s) window.
  3. Select Exclude Author from the Formatting menu.
  4. Type the acronym into the Prefix field. Add a comma, or other punctuation as required by the referencing style. Lastly add a space. EndNote will not add a space between the acronym and the year if you do not.
  5. Click OK to close the Edit Citation(s) dialog window, and the in-text citation will now appear in your document with the acronym and year e.g. (ANDS, 2013)

 

A printable copy of these instructions: Using acronyms in in-text citations (PDF)

Delete a citation from your document

Never delete citations by using the delete or backspace keys. It can corrupt your document. You need to remove the formatting that links the citation in your document with the matching record in your EndNote library.

To safely delete a citation:

  1. Click on the citation in your document to highlight it.
  2. Go to the EndNote toolbar.
  3. Click on Edit & Manage Citations.
  4. Make sure the correct reference is highlighted in the Edit & Manage Citations window.
  5. Open the drop down menu for Edit Reference.
  6. Select Remove citation. This removes the in-text citation, the reference in the bibliography, and the associated EndNote formatting.
  7. Click OK to close the Edit & Manage Citations window.
  8. Save the changes to your document.

 

A printable copy of these instructions: Delete a citation (PDF)

Remove author initials from in-text citations

For some referencing styles, author initials are supposed to appear in in-text citations when you have multiple authors with the same family name. Most times the problem is multiple variations of a single author name. For example, if one author’s name is entered as "Williams, S J" in one reference in your EndNote library, as Williams, Susan Jennifer in a second reference, and as "Williams, Susan J" in a third reference, EndNote will treat them as three different authors. You will start to see variations such as S Williams and S J Williams in your in-text citations. It is not an EndNote error. It is a data entry error.

You can end up with multiple versions of a single author's name because each database has different ways of dealing with author names in its records. Authors may also use different versions of their name for different publications. You will need to clean up your records to fix the issue.

There are 3 parts to this process:

  1. Tidy up your Author Terms List to remove unwanted versions of the name.
  2. Tidy up your records to make sure than names are consistently formatted.
  3. If the first 2 steps don’t work, edit the citation style template in the Output Style as a last resort.

 

Part 1: Tidy up your Author Terms

The first step is to edit your Author Terms List to remove unwanted versions of the name, e.g. you would delete Williams, S J and Williams, Susan J. Williams, Susan Jennifer is the most complete version of the name, so that is the one to keep. If you later add a paper by Williams, Susan Jemima to you library, having full names for both authors will enable EndNote to distinguish between Susan Jennifer Williams and Susan Jemima Williams

  1. Open EndNote
  2. Open the Tools menu and select Define Term Lists
  3. Select Authors in the Terms Lists window, then click on the Terms tab to open the list of author names you’ve entered.
  4. Scroll through the list and delete any versions of the name that you don’t need. NOTE: Names deleted from this list will not be deleted from the records of the references they appear in.
    To delete a name, highlight it in the list and click Delete Term. The name will be removed. The list will automatically refresh and it will return you to the top.
  5. When you’ve finished editing your Author Terms List, click Close.

 

Part 2: Tidy up your records

  1. Now that your Author Terms List is clean. The individual records need to be edited to ensure that each entry for the same author is consistently formatted.
  2. If you have the Reference Panel open on the right or at the bottom, it will speed this process up.
  3. The deleted versions of author names will appear in red in the EndNote record. This makes them easy to spot for editing.
  4. Open the All References group. Working one at a time, locate each record that contains a name that needs editing. Highlight the reference. This will open the record in the Reference panel.
  5. Delete the red name and start retyping it. The autocomplete function will fill the rest in.
  6. Save the change to the record and move to the next one that needs editing.
  7. When you have finished editing all of the records that you need to, open your Word document.
  8. Go to the EndNote toolbar.
  9. Click on Update Citations and Bibliography in the Bibliography section of the EndNote tool bar. The citations should now be free of author initials.

 

Part 3: Edit the output style to remove author initials

See Edit the style to remove author initials from in-text citations on the Edit EndNote output styles page of this guide.

 

A printable copy of the instructions for: Removing author initials from in-text citations (PDF). This includes all 3 parts of the process.