EndNote

EndNote is a particular brand of content management software. It allows people to store bibliographic references in files that are referred to as libraries. Endnote can be used on Windows and Macintosh computers.

EndNote Online

EndNote Online is the web version of EndNote. If you are working between different computers and want to sync your libraries, EndNote Online will allow you to do that.

  • You can create a free account, but It needs to be renewed every 2 years.
  • Your account is linked to a specific email address.
  • You can have one EndNote library per account.
  • Logging on within CQU IP range (on campus sometime) will provide greater storage.
  • The desk top version has greater functionality, e.g. you can have group sets in the desktop version, but only groups online
  • It’s best to write from the desk top version of EndNote because there is more flexibility with styles
  • For help with EndNote Online, please contact Crandon Services

 

Create an account

  1. Go to EndNote Online.
  2. Click Register.
  3. Fill in the required details and create a password. You need a current email address for the account.
  4. Follow the prompts to complete creating and authenticating your new account.

 

For information on using web-based version of EndNote go to the EndNote Online help guide.

Sync your library with EndNote Online

You can sync your EndNote library in both directions – from desktop to EndNote Online, and from EndNote Online to desktop. Once your libraries are synced, what you do to your library in one location will be repeated in all of the places it's synced to. If you add a reference to the EndNote Online library, it will be added to the desktop libraries it's synced to. If you delete a reference in a desktop library, it will be deleted in the online library and any other desktop libraries that are synced to the online one.

Sync your desktop library to EndNote Online

  1. Save a compressed copy of your EndNote library as back-up before you sync it.
  2. Open your EndNote library on your desktop or laptop computer.
  3. Open the Edit menu from the toolbar.
  4. Go to Preferences and select Sync.
  5. Enter the email address and password for your EndNote Online account in the EndNote Account Credentials section.
  6. Navigate to your library to add the file path for your desktop library in the Sync this EndNote Library section.
  7. Tick Sync Automatically
  8. Click OK.

 

Sync your EndNote Online library to EndNote on a desktop or laptop computer.

  1. Open EndNote
  2. Open the File menu and click New to create a new EndNote library on your desktop or laptop computer.
  3. Name the new library. It must have exactly the same name as the EndNote Online library.
  4. Save the new library.
  5. Click the Sync button in the EndNote toolbar.
  6. Enter the email address and password for your EndNote Online account in the EndNote Account Credentials section.
  7. Click OK.

NOTE: The larger your EndNote library, the longer this initial sync will take. After that it will be faster, because it will only be working with small batches of references each time.

 

See also: Using a synced library to work on the same document on different computers

Share a library

It is possible to share a library with versions EndNote X7.2 and later. If you share your library, please be aware that:

  • Anyone you have shared your library with has full editing rights. Anything you can do to your library, they can do to your library.
  • You need to have an EndNote Online account
  • Many libraries can be shared with you.
  • You can only share your one online library with others. Your shared library and synced library are the same library.
  • If you try to sync a second library to your account, the first library will be overwritten and you will lose it.
  • Please Note: Please ensure that you are sharing a copy of your library without attachments. Sharing the full text of articles, book chapters and other materials from CQUniversity Library's subscription databases is a breach of copyright and our database licence agreements.

With EndNote X7

  • You can share with 14 others
  • There is no visibility of any of the changes
  • This works with EndNote X7.2 and later

With EndNote X8

  • You can share with 100 others
  • You can see any edits that are made to the library

With EndNote X9

  • You can share with 100 others
  • You can see any edits that are made to the library using the Activity Feed icon.
  • You can choose the level of permission for sharing the library – either Read Only / Locked, or Read & Write

 

Share a library

  1. Sync your library to EndNote Online
  2. Open EndNote on your Desktop or laptop computer.
  3. Open the File menu and select Share ...
  4. Type your colleagues' email addresses into the Invite More People box with commas between them
  5. Step 5 is only for those using EndNote X9 – Select the level of permission
    • Read and Write gives your colleagues the same level of access as yourself
    • Read Only / Locked means that they cannot edit your library
  6. Add a message in the box provided if you wish.
  7. Click Invite
  8. Click Close

NOTE: For EndNote X9, you can also change access permission in the Sharing window at a later date if you need to.

Stop sharing a library

You can stop sharing your library with an individual or group.

  1. Open EndNote on your Desktop or laptop computer.
  2. Open the File menu and select Share ...
  3. Select the identity of the person you want to stop sharing with from the Sharing with list. It might be a name or an email address.
  4. Click the Settings wheel beside this name.
  5. Click Remove.
  6. Click Close.

Accept an invitation to share a group or library

If someone shares an EndNote library or group with you, you'll need to accept the invitation before you can see it.

  1. Open the email invitation to Share.
  2. Click Accept.
  3. Open EndNote.
  4. Open the File menu and select Open shared library.
  5. Select the email address of the person who shared library.
  6. Click Open.

Share groups

It is possible to share a group of references instead of a whole library. You will need an EndNote Online account for this.

Please Note: Please ensure that you are sharing a copy of the group without attachments. Sharing the full text of articles, book chapters and other materials from CQUniversity Library's subscription databases is a breach of copyright and our database licence agreements.

 

Create a group in your EndNote Online library:

You will only need to create a group to share if you don't already have one.

  1. Logon to your EndNote Online library.
  2. Click on Organize and then on Manage My Groups.
  3. Select New Group and name it.
  4. Select the citations you would like to add into the New Group.
  5. Click on the arrow from the drop-down Add To Group menu.
  6. Add your references to the selected group.

 

Share that group using your EndNote Online library:

  1. In EndNote Online, click on Organize and then on Manage My Groups. The Manage My Groups window opens and shows the groups you have created and their status.
  2. Select the Share column; check the square box to the left of the group you wish to share and choose the Manage Sharing button.
  3. Click on Start sharing this Group.
  4. The add email addresses window opens; add email addresses for those you wish to share your group with.
  5. Select the permission level to allow either Read Only or Read & Write access to the group of references you are sharing.
  6. Click Apply.

 

Share a group using your desktop library (EndNote X9)

You will still need an EndNote Online account to enable this function.

  1. Open your EndNote library using the desktop version of the program.
  2. Hightlight the group that you want to share from the Groups panel. Right click on the name of that group to open an options menu
  3. Click on Share Group...
  4. An Authorising window will pop up followed by the Sharing Group window. Add email addresses for those you wish to share your group with in the Invite More People box.
  5. Add an optional message to the email invitation to share that group.
  6. Select the permission level to allow either Read Only or Read & Write access to the group of references you are sharing.
  7. Click Invite.

Share a library among researchers with shared network access

If you are collaborating at the same institution you can set-up an EndNote library for shared network access. Everyone in the group can access the same library simultaneously as long as the library is set to Read Only or Locked status. This allows all of you to perform searches, copy information to your documents and format your papers. However, only one person can edit the library.

Please use links to articles rather than full text attachments.

 

Steps to follow:

  1. Assign one person responsibility for maintaining and updating the library. This person will have full access to the library and grant all others read-only access.
  2. This group librarian creates a working library and saves it to a different network location from the shared copy.
  3. Only the group librarian will have access to manually create references or to export records from databases directly into this shared library. Group members can send compressed copies of new references from their personal libraries to the group librarian, or use travelling libraries to help build the shared library.
  4. The group librarian will periodically post the updated version to the shared network location for all other group members.

To establish a shared network access, use the network's system of permissions to control the type of access allowed for users.

 

Set the library to Read-Only status:

  1. Locate the .ENL file and .DATA folder in Windows Explorer.
  2. Right click on .ENL file.
  3. Go to Properties in the menu and select Read-Only.

Create a compressed copy of a library or group of references to share

You can create a compressed copy of your library, or a selected group of references to send to colleagues.

Please Note: Please ensure that you are sharing a copy of the group without attachments. Sharing the full text of articles, book chapters and other materials from CQUniversity Library's subscription databases is a breach of copyright and our database licence agreements.

 

Create a compressed copy of a library of selected references to share

  1. Highlight the references you wish to use.
  2. Right click on the highlighted area. Go to Copy References To in the menu, and choose New Library from the submenu.
  3. The default location is My Documents. Choose another location if this isn't suitable.
  4. Name the new library and click Save.
  5. The new library will open.
  6. Open the File menu and choose Compressed Library.
  7. The compressed library window opens. Tick the radio buttons for:
    • Create and Email
    • Without File Attachments You can share links to articles, but not attachments.
  8. Click Next.
  9. Click Save.
  10. A blank email will open with the compressed library attached. Add the email addresses and a subject line, and any message.

Note: If you have a large library, the whole thing may be too big to email. In this case, you would still create and save a compressed copy of the library, but you would need to consider a different method of delivery.

Use a Travelling library to share references

A travelling library is an EndNote formatted word document. It works with Word 2007 and later versions. Travelling libraries are useful when collaborating on journal articles or conference papers or group assignments. All members need to share their formatted Word documents containing EndNote citations.

To create the individual travelling libraries:

Group members

  • Nominate one person to collate the travelling libraries and sections of the final document.
  • Add the references they find to their own EndNote libraries.
  • Use Cite While You Write to insert citations into their Word documents from EndNote.
  • Save their documents.
  • Email copies of their EndNote formatted Word documents to the person responsible for coordinating the final Word document and reference list.

 

To import the citations from the documents into a single library:

The nominated collator

  1. Downloads and saves copies of all of the group's formatted Word documents.
  2. Opens a formatted Word document.
  3. Goes to the EndNote toolbar in Word.
  4. Selects Export to EndNote then Export Traveling Library.
  5. Chooses to Import the citations to an existing EndNote library or create a New EndNote library for this group collaboration. The citations will automatically be imported into the chosen EndNote library.
  6. Closes that document.
  7. Repeats these steps with each of the remaining formatted Word documents until all of the travelling libraries have been imported into the one EndNote library.

Note: Do not unformat these documents if you do not have their references in your EndNote Library.

 

To combine the documents:

See Combing the chapters of a thesis under Editing and working with your document. The record numbers for the references will be different from the record numbers in the original library. EndNote will match the records and ask you to confirm that it has identified the citation correctly.

Merging libraries

It is possible to merge multiple libraries into a single library.

  1. Before you start, save compressed back-up copies of each of the libraries that will be involved in the merge.
  2. Open the EndNote library you want the references imported into.
  3. Open the File menu.
  4. Go to Import and select File. A dialogue box will open.
  5. Select EndNote Library for Import Option.
  6. Click Choose and select the EndNote library you want to import.
  7. Click Import.

NOTE: The record numbers will change for references imported from other libraries. If you have used these references in a document, you will need to update your citations and bibliography.