Evidence Based Practice
This guide is designed to provide information on what Evidence Based Practice (EBP) is and how to find evidence.
Databases for finding Evidence Based Practice resources
Now that you have formulated your question, and have your search strategy, where do you go to find your information?
Some resources are freely available to search for scholarly information 
. However, CQUniversity Library pays for subscription licenses to scholarly publications, allowing you significantly more access to full-text resources. Your hospital library in the clinical setting may also provide full text access to some of these resources.
Below is a list of the major databases we use when searching for quality evidence.
For more information about using these databases, check out these Library Guides
- Database searching – Explains search techniques
- Using Health and Medical Databases – Explains Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) and gives you basic information about each database.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowCollection of databases providing full-text access to evidence based practice material. It provides evidence for clinical, technological & economic decisions made by health professionals & organisations.
Free to all Australian residents. - Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowEnables searching of scholarly literature from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Help: Link Google Scholar to CQU Library collections
- JBI EPB This link opens in a new windowEvidence-based resources and tools designed to assist in the clinical decision making process and to support best practice. Resources include systematic reviews and protocols, recommended practices, best practices information sheets, consumer information sheets, and evidence summaries. Access via Ovid includes access to EBP Tools such as SUMARI, a tool for appraising systematic reviews.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowKey index of the health and medical literature, produced by the US National Library of Medicine. Coverage includes research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues and health care services.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowA key index of the health, medical and life sciences literature, provided by the US National Library of Medicine. PubMed includes MEDLINE, and some additional content not covered by MEDLINE.
Help: Medline, PubMed and PMC (PubMed Central): How are they different - Trip Pro This link opens in a new windowClinical search engine enabling users to find high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Content includes systematic reviews, evidence-based synopses, clinical guidelines, controlled trials, clinical Q&A and patient information.
