Library Resources for Moodle

Linking to Library resources in Moodle

How you link to Library resources within a Moodle site depends on whether you are:

  1. Developing a separate Reading List using specific software supplied for this purpose, which enables you to organise resources in a dedicated section on your Moodle site.
     
  2. Placing links within unit content to resources discovered via Library Search
     
  3. Linking to other Library resources which are not discoverable via Library Search.


Information about each approach is provided in the relevant box below.

1. Creating a reading list in Moodle

Reading List software enables you to create a "stand alone" list of linked readings. 
This is the recommended option for linking to resources, as the risk of linking errors and copyright issues is greatly reduced.

  • Links are created automatically from Library Search records
     
  • Reading lists can be easily organised/modified to reflect how you want students to engage with resources (for example, by week or theme)
     
  • Reading lists allow you to see how many times your students have accessed each reading list item

For more information, please see Reading Lists in Moodle.

2. Creating links to Library resources within your unit content

If you need to link to items within your written content (rather than within a Reading List), resources discovered via Library Search have a permanent link which can be used in Moodle - this is the recommended option, as it reduces the likelihood of broken links:

Selecting the permalink provided on the Library Search record will link students to the record in Library Search:


When students select the full text link on the record, they will be prompted to log into Library Search to access the item.

Please use the permalink rather than providing a copy of the resource on your Moodle unit site, which in most instances will be a breach of copyright.

3. LInking to Library Resources not included in Library Search

Some Library resources are not accessible via Library Search, usually due to:

  • content type 
  • platform limitations
  • licence restrictions

Linking to these particular Library resources is dependent upon if/how the database enables linking:

  1.  If a permalink is provided, use this to link to the item (this permalink may be a doi - see the second example below). These links should contain cqu ezproxy details (ezproxy.cqu.edu.au) so that students can access the item directly from the link in Moodle. For example:
             
              https://bmcpulmmed-biomedcentral-com.ezproxy.cqu.edu.au/articles/10.1186/s12890-019-1234-x
              ​https://doi-org.ezproxy.cqu.edu.au/10.1186/s12890-019-1234-x

    If linking to individual resources is possible, information is usually included in the database's Help section. If you cannot identify an ezproxy link, please contact the Library for assistance. (Note: the link displayed in the address bar is frequently only valid for the search session, so is not a reliable linking option.)
     
  2. If a permalink is not available, provide a link to the database from the Library's A-Z Databases list, and if necessary provide some guidance about how locate the resource.  Please do not provide a copy (e.g. PDF) of the individual resource on your Moodle unit site - in most instances this will be a breach of copyright.
     

Content in the following Library A-Z Databases is not discoverable via Library Search:

Accident Reconstruction Technology Grove Music Online
Acumen IBIS World
Anatomedia Joanna Briggs
Australian Standards Legal Trac
Austroads Lexis Advance Pacific
Autodata Mental Measurements Yearbook
Brittanica Academic MIMS Online
CAB Abstracts MSDS
CDX Online Naxos Music Library
Checkpoint Plantfile
CoreLogic RP Data Routledge Performance Archive
Digital Theatre+ Rock's Backpages
Draw It To Know It SafetyHub
Expert Evidence TripPro
First Point UpToDate
Gartner Core IT Research Westlaw AU
  Westlaw UK