Nursing

Useful web links

Government Departments

The Australian Institute of Health and Welfare

The Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW) is Australia's national agency for health and welfare statistics and information.

CRCAH 

The CRC for Aboriginal Health is a collaborative research organisation that brings together Aboriginal organisations, research institutions and government agencies to deliver health-related programs to Aboriginal people.

Queensland Department of Health

Health topics, public health, environmental health & more

Nursing Research (Databases)

eMIMS

MIMS Online provides access to abbreviated and full medicines information, product images and consumer medicines information. As well as providing information for health professionals, it also provides information sheets for patients.  Subjects Nursing, midwifery, health, pharmacology, chemistry, oral health, paramedic, medical science, chiropractic

ICN Code of Ethics for Nurses

This resource is the full text of the International Council of Nurses (ICN) Code of ethics 

Joanna Briggs Institute

Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) brings together a range of practice-oriented research activities to improve the effectiveness of nursing practice and health care outcomes.

MSDS

MSDS.COM.AU provides the Safety Data Sheets about chemical products (which may be a hazardous substance and/or dangerous goods) required for compliance with OH&S and legislative obligations related to the storage and handling of chemicals through the automated creation of chemical registers (inventories), Dangerous Goods manifests, risk assessments and other documentation required to be maintained.

Professional Organisations

Australian Nursing & Midwifery Council

The ANMC is a peak body established in 1992 to facilitate a national approach to nursing and midwifery regulation

Useful sites

Allnurses.com

Nursing for nurses, an online nursing community

Drug Calculations [Flinders University]

This provides information to assist you with drug calculations.

Nursing, Midwifery and Allied Health

Created by a network of UK universities and partners, Intute provides access to evaluated education and research web resources, in the nursing, midwifery and allied health professions

Australian Nursing Federation

The ANF is the national union for nurses, midwives, assistants in nursing and students

Queensland Nurses Union

The QNU is an independent professional organisation that represents the interests of Queensland nurses in the health system, the workplace and the community

Royal College of Nursing, Australia

The RCNA is the nation's leading professional organisation representing nurses from all areas of practice throughout Australia.

Useful texts

Online Journals

Australian Journal of Advanced Nursing

Nursing research and scholarly papers in full text.

Bandolier Journal
A premier source of evidence based healthcare information in the UK and worldwide for both healthcare professionals and consumers.

The Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making

PubMed Central
PubMed Central is a free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH).

About Referencing

Search Google Scholar

Use Google Scholar to search for information such as journal articles, books and more.

Tip - off campus users need to go to Scholar Preferences and set up Library Links for CQUniversity Library.

Google Scholar