This is the "Finding Theses" page of the "Theses" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Theses   Tags: masters, phd, theses, thesis  

How to find theses, write and deposit your thesis.
Last Updated: Jan 2, 2017 URL: http://libguides.library.cqu.edu.au/theses Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Finding Theses Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Thesis Websites

British Library EthOS (Electronic Theses Online Service) aims to give access to ALL theses from participating UK institutions whether paper based or electronic. EThOS harvests e-theses from Institutional Repositories and digitises paper based theses as they are ordered by researchers using the system.

Theses Canada Portal
The central access point for Canadian theses and information about the Theses Canada program.
http://www.collectionscanada.ca/thesescanada/index-e.html

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)
A digital library of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs) from selected universities.
http://www.ndltd.org/

Center for Research Libraries
Twenty thousand doctoral dissertations from outside of the United States and Canada are searchable from this site.
http://www.crl.edu

Digital Library and Archives
Digital Library and Archives allows searching for citations and abstracts of over 6,700 theses and dissertations. Free full-text access is provided for over 4,500 of these items.
http://scholar.lib.vt.edu/theses

PhdData: The Universal Index of Dissertations in Progress
PhdData has citations from several thousand dissertations in progress from various parts of the world.
http://www.phddata.org

DART-Europe E-theses Portal
Access to nearly 300,000 open access research theses from more than 400 Universities sourced from 20 European countries.
http://www.dart-europe.eu/basic-search.php

Hong Kong Dissertations & Theses Collections
An online union collection of Hong Kong and Macau postgraduate students’ doctoral and master dissertations and theses indexed in the library catalogues or institutional repositories of eight Hong Kong and Macau universities.
http://www.hkbu.edu.hk/lib/electronic/libdbs/dol.html

 

 

CQUniversity Theses

The Library has a comprehensive collection of PhD and Research Masters theses completed at CQUniversity. The printed copies of these theses are kept in the Thesis Collection at Rockhampton Campus. Some theses have second copies in the Library's main collections. A number of more recent theses are available in electronic form.

To find CQUniversity theses:

  • go to the Library homepage - http://www.cqu.edu.au/student-life/library 
  • conduct a keyword search constructed in the following way: thesis AND central queensland university AND ... (use a descriptive keyword for the topic of a  thesis you require).

                     For example:  thesis AND central queensland university AND water quality

This search will include all CQUniversity printed and electronic theses that are held in the Library or in the ACQUIRE repository.

 

Australian Theses

Trove is a new discovery service focused on Australia, Australians, and items found in Australian collecting institutions. The Australasian Digital Thesis Website has now been incorporated into Trove, and it contains theses from universities across Australia and New Zealand. Use the following help page to find out how to limit your search to theses:
http://help.nla.gov.au/trove/using-trove/finding-things/finding-australian-theses

Search Trove theses collection below:

 

International Theses

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (formerly known as Digital Dissertations) is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. PQDT — Full Text includes millions of searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.

Open Access Theses and Dissertations  - is a web-tool that helps to locate open access theses and dissertations.  Metadata in OATD comes from over 800 colleges, universities, and research institutions; the tool currently indexes over 1.8 million theses and dissertations. All of them are Open Access and freely accessible, as well as OATD itself which can be used for free.

 

Thesis Websites - Subject Specific

A number of databases index relevant theses. An example is the Australian Education Index on Informit.

There are also some subject-specific sources for theses. You may be interested in some of the following:

Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology
This is an international database of citations for dissertations in musicology that contains over 14,000 records. Dissertations are from approximately 1950 to the present.
http://www.ams-net.org/ddm/index.php

Directory of History Dissertations 
"The Directory contains 3,804 dissertations in progress at 170 academic departments in Canada and the U.S." This is a citation database of dissertations in progress in the area of history.
https://secure.historians.org/pubs/dissertations/

TREN: Theological Research Exchange Network
TREN provides citations to 6,800 theological theses/dissertations and conference papers. Items can then be purchased through this site. The opening page actually states that they have 10,000 theses/dissertations, but the search page allows searching of 6,800 items.
http://www.tren.com

 

Need more help?

Ask a Librarian
  Search our FAQs
  University Research & Information Skills
  Video Service Kiosk at your Campus
  Check our Library Guides
Call us - 1300 666 620
Email your question
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip