This is the "Standard Types/Finding Australian Standards" page of the "Finding Standards/Patents" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Finding Standards/Patents  

This guide will help you understand what standards are, how they are used and how to find them.
Last Updated: Mar 11, 2016 URL: http://libguides.library.cqu.edu.au/standards Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Standard Types/Finding Australian Standards Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Occupational Health & Safety

Australian Occupational Health and Safety standards are available to all CQUniversity students and staff via Standards Australia.

National standards codes of practice and related guidance (NOHSC documents) are available from the Safe Work Australia Website

 

Accounting Standards

The EIS Australian Accounting and Auditing Standards Online comprises of the AASB Standards, Statements of Accounting Concepts, AASB Standards 2005, Auditing Standards and Auditing Guidance Statements plus more.

 

Engineering Standards

Australian Standards

CQUniversity students have access to Standards Australia , an online collection of all AS, AS/NZ and AS/NZ/ISO standards. Some international standards have been adopted by Australia and these can be indentified by the AS/NZ/ISO prefix.

If access is available to these standards they will be identified in the Standards Australia database by the "View Document" icon.

 

International Standards

The Library also provides access to all current IEEE (Institution of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) standards via the IEEExplore database.

The American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) produces hundreds of technical standards for materials, products, systems, and services. The Library has print copies of many of these standards. Contact the Library for details on how to locate copies of specific ASTM standards.

The Library does not provide access to other international standards such as Briitish (BS), German (DIN), European (EN) or International Organization for Standardization(ISO). The Standards Australia database may list these standards in a search result list but those unavailable will be identified by a "Buy Now" icon.

 

Free Standards

SAI Global, the Australian supplier of local and international standards, also provides some access to international standards for free.

The selection is limited but the standard you are looking for may be on their list.

Look for free standards

 

Accessing Australian Standards

From the Library Homepage, choose More Search Options.

Choose Databases by title and select the letter "S" from the alphabetical list.

Scroll down to the link for Standards Australia.

You may be asked to log into this authentication box:

 

 

Searching Australian Standards

Quick Search - type in the standard number or a keyword that describes the standard you are looking for.

Power Search - allows you to search on more than 1 keyword as well as limit your search to drafts or amendments or current or withdrawn standards.

 

Viewing Australian Standards

The Search Results will display which standards you may access as part of the Library's subscription.

 Click on the View Document icon to view the full text of the standard.

The document will open using Adobe Acrobat Reader.

You can print a copy of the standard for your own personal research and study, however as all of the standards are encrypted for security purposes, dowloading and storing the file is not permitted. 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip