Overview
Library Search is a good place to start looking for information (especially books and journal articles) because it covers multiple databases.
However, the databases included in this guide are more appropriate sources if you are looking for specific types of information like cases, legislation and commentaries.
If you require further assistance, please see the Library's Ask Us page.
Databases for Law
- Jade This link opens in a new windowJudgment and Decisions Enhanced (JADE) is a free current awareness service and professional legal research platform on Australian decisions and legislation
Law dictionaries and encyclopedias
Legal dictionaries provide authoritative and detailed definitions of terms. They also place terms in their legal context.
Legal encyclopaedias provide succinct summaries on the current state of the law.
- Cardiff Index to Legal AbbreviationsThis database allows you to search for the meaning of abbreviations for English language legal publications, from the British Isles, the Commonwealth and the United States, including those covering international and comparative law.
- Halsbury's Laws of Australia This link opens in a new windowHalsbury's is included in the Lexis Advance® database. Access Halsbury's from the Publication list on the Lexis Advance home page.
- The Laws of Australia (TLA)The Laws of Australia encyclopaedia (TLA) is a complete library of legal principles covering over 320 topics and every Australian jurisdiction.
Database: Westlaw - Oxford Companion to the High Court of AustraliaA pioneering reference work, this comprehensive and scholarly publication examines the High Court of Australia’s public work, the Court’s role in Australian law, politics and society, and the Court’s inner workings. Containing 435 expertly compressed and skilfully cross-referenced entries, the Companion’s broad treatment of topics gives a scope far beyond the professional concerns of legal practice.
Database: Oxford Reference - Oxford Guide to United States Supreme Court DecisionsThe Supreme Court has been the site of some of the great debates of American history, from child labor and prayer in the schools, to busing and abortion. The Oxford Guide to United States Supreme Court Decisions offers lively and insightful accounts of the most important cases ever argued before the Court.
Database: Oxford Reference - WexWex is a free legal dictionary and encyclopedia sponsored and hosted by the Legal Information Institute at the Cornell Law School. Wex entries are collaboratively created and edited by legal experts.
- Guide to Latin in International LawAs knowledge of Latin continues to diminish, the constant use of this language in cases, textbooks, treaties and scholarly works baffles law students, practitioners, and scholars alike. Most of the Latin terms commonly used by international lawyers are not included in some of the more popular law dictionaries.
Database: Oxford Reference