This is the "Start Here" page of the "Paramedic Science Resource Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Paramedic Science Resource Guide  

This guide provides information on how to access resources supporting the study of paramedic science.
Last Updated: Nov 29, 2016 URL: http://libguides.library.cqu.edu.au/paramedic Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Start Here Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Search

Library Search can be used to find a wide range of information sources including books, ebooks, journal articles, streamed videos and Course Resources Online. 

Use this box to start your search.

More details

Journals

The journals listed below are a sample of the journals available online via Library Search.

  • Academic Emergency Medicine
  • American Journal of Emergency Medicine
  • Annals of Emergency Medicine
  • Australasian Journal of Disaster and Trauma Studies
  • Australasian Journal of Paramedicine
  • Australian Journal of Rural Health
  • Australian Emergency Nursing Journal
  • BMJ
  • Emergency Medical Services Magazine
  • Emergency Medicine Australasia
  • European Journal of Trauma and Emergency Surgery
  • JEMS (Journal of Emergency Services)
  • Lancet
  • Pediatric Emergency Care
  • Prehospital Emergency Care
  • Rural and Remote Health
  • The Medical Journal of Australia
 

Journal of emergency services - news

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Emergency Medicine News

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Paramedic science databases

  • CINAHL Complete
    Description: CINAHL Complete provides full text for over 1,400 journals dating back to 1937, citations and abstracts for over 5,400 nursing, midwifery and allied health journals, and searchable cited references for more than 1,500 journals.
    Endnote: Direct Export
  • Cochrane Library
    Description: The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases providing full-text access to evidence based practice material. It provides evidence for clinical, technological & economic decisions made by health professionals & organisations.
    Free to all Australian residents.
    Endnote: Filter
    Subjects covered: Nursing, midwifery, health
  • Health Collection
    Description: Health Collection includes research articles, reports and case studies of practical support to anyone studying or working in therapeutic, diagnostic and preventative health roles, including nursing and midwifery. Topics of interest include ageing and age care, child health and breastfeeding, indigenous health issues, mental health and rehabilitation.
    Endnote: Filter or Direct export
  • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
    Description: Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
    Endnote: Direct export
  • MIMS Online
    Description: MIMS Online provides access to abbreviated and full medicines information, product images and consumer medicines information. As well as providing information for health professionals, it also provides information sheets for patients.
    Subjects Nursing, midwifery, health, pharmacology, chemistry, oral health, paramedic, medical science, chiropractic

How to use the key health and medical sciences databases

Tutorials and instructions on how to use PubMed/ MEDLINE, CINAHL Complete, Cochrane Library, Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database via Ovid, and MIMS Online can be found through the link below.

You can also find information about MeSH (Medical Subject Headings).

 

Improve your research and information skills

University Research and Information Skills is the Library's Moodle site.

It outlines the skills you need to become successful at finding the best information for your assessment items.

All Undergraduate students are automatically enrolled in this course, so you will find it in your Moodle course list or you can use the link above.

 

Test

Discipline Guide Feedback

Your feedback is very important to us. Please take a minute to let us know what you think about this guide so we can improve it.
1. Was this guide useful? *
Yes
No
2. Are there any resources that should be added?
3. Were there any resources included that weren't useful?
4. Any other feedback?
5. Would you like us to contact you to discuss your feedback? Please provide your name and contact details.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip