This guide provides information on how to locate resources relevant to nursing.
Library Search can be used to find a wide range of information sources including books, ebooks, journal articles, streamed videos and Course Resources Online.
Use this box to start your search.
The journals listed below are a sample of the journals available online via Library Search.
- American Journal of Critical Care
- International Journal of Mental Health Nursing
- International Journal of Nursing Studies
- Worldviews on Evidence-Based Nursing
Use the link below if you would like to know more about Evidence Based Practice (EBP).
Are you looking for Systematic Reviews?
Use the link below if you would like to know more about how to find systematic reviews within the recommended databases.
Recommended databases for finding Systematic Reviews
CINAHL Complete, Cochrane Library, PubMed & Joanna Briggs (JBI)
From the library homepage select the 'More Search Options' to access databases individually. Select the databases link and you will able to choose databases from the alphabetical list.
Databases most relevant to nursing.
- CINAHL Complete
CINAHL Complete provides full text for over 1,400 journals dating back to 1937, citations and abstracts for over 5,400 nursing, midwifery and allied health journals, and searchable cited references for more than 1,500 journals.Endnote: Direct Export
- Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases providing full-text access to evidence based practice material. It provides evidence for clinical, technological & economic decisions made by health professionals & organisations.
Free to all Australian residents.Endnote: FilterSubjects covered:
Nursing, midwifery, health
- Health Collection
Health Collection includes research articles, reports and case studies of practical support to anyone studying or working in therapeutic, diagnostic and preventative health roles, including nursing and midwifery. Topics of interest include ageing and age care, child health and breastfeeding, indigenous health issues, mental health and rehabilitation. Endnote: Filter
or Direct export
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.Endnote: Direct export
- Joanna Briggs via JBI COnNECT+
The Joanna Briggs Institute's collection of evidence-based resources and tools are designed to assist in the clinical decision making process and to support best practice. Resources include systematic reviews and protocols, recommended practices, best practices information sheets, consumer information sheets, and evidence summaries.Access:
A password is required for access. Please go to the passwords
page (Enter your student number and password to view passwords).
- Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database via Ovid
Description: The Joanna Briggs Institute's collection of evidence-based resources and tools are designed to assist in the clinical decision making process and to support best practice. Resources include systematic reviews and protocols, recommended practices, best practices information sheets, consumer information sheets, and evidence summaries. Access via Ovid includes access to EBP Tools such as SUMARI, a tool for appraising systematic reviews.
MEDLINE forms part of the Library's subscription to ProQuest's Health Research Premium Collection and contains over 20 million citations and abstracts. The majority of publications covered in MEDLINE are scholarly journals, however a small number of newspapers, magazines, and newsletters are also included. Produced by the US National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues and health care services.
Note: A growing number of MEDLINE citations contain a link to the free full text of the article archived in PubMedCentral or to other sites.Endnote: Filter
or Direct Export
- MIMS Online
Description: MIMS Online provides access to abbreviated and full medicines information, product images and consumer medicines information. As well as providing information for health professionals, it also provides information sheets for patients.
Subjects Nursing, midwifery, health, pharmacology, chemistry, oral health, paramedic, medical science, chiropractic
PubMed is a free service of the US National Library of Medicine providing free access to MEDLINE. It contains citations and abstracts for over 27 million articles. The full text of around 4 million, including around 170,000 open access publications may be found in PubMed Central. Subject coverage includes: medicine, biomedicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. Endnote: Direct export
Tutorials and instructions on how to use PubMed/ MEDLINE, CINAHL Complete, Cochrane Library, Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database via Ovid, and MIMS Online can be found through the link below.
You can also find information about MeSH (Medical Subject Headings).
University Research and Information Skills is the Library's Moodle site.
It outlines the skills you need to become successful at finding the best information for your assessment items.
All Undergraduate students are automatically enrolled in this course, so you will find it in your Moodle course list or you can use the link above.