This is the "Home" page of the "Finding Newspaper Articles" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Finding Newspaper Articles  

Last Updated: Nov 17, 2016 URL: http://libguides.library.cqu.edu.au/newspaper-articles Print Guide Email Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Finding a specific newspaper

Newspaper articles are available in a variety of formats. How you access them will depend on whether you are looking for a specific newspaper or trying to find newspaper articles on a particular topic.

Finding a specific newspaper

To find specific newspapers, you need to perform a journal title search in Library Search. This will indicate the format of the newspaper: 

  • Microfilm - Some print newspapers are replaced by microfilm for storage and preservation.
     
  • Electronic - Databases, particularly EBSCOhost's Newspaper Source Plus (see below), provide online access to many newspapers.
 

Finding a newspaper article

If you need to find newspaper articles on a topic but don't necessarily need to view the entire newspaper, you need to search one of the following:

Newspaper Source Plus

Newspaper Source Plus includes 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.

Factiva

Factiva provides full text access to major Australian newspapers, including Fairfax content such as the 'Australian Financial Review'. Factiva includes thousands of international news sources and some local Australian daily newspapers. A Factiva Search Guide is available.

Images are usually not available in Factiva.

Morning Bulletin Index (MBI)

The Library maintains an online index to the main stories in The Morning Bulletin - Rockhampton's local paper - from 1977 to 2008. Full-text articles can be accessed on microfilm.

For further assistance with a specific newspaper query, please contact the Library.

Newspaper websites

Many newspapers provide access to current content online. You may be required to register (for free). Costs may be associated with access to archival material.

Images are often available from newspaper websites.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip