This is the "Start Here" page of the "Law Resource Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Law Resource Guide  

This guide provides information on finding legal resources for courses in the LAWS Program.
Last Updated: Oct 3, 2017 URL: http://libguides.library.cqu.edu.au/law Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Start Here Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Search

Library Search can be used to find a wide range of information sources including books, ebooks, journal articles, streamed videos and Course Resources Online. 

Use this box to start your search.

More details

 

Legal System in Australia

The following resource provides an introduction to the legal system in Australia:

Hirst, J. 1998, Discovering Democracy: A Guide to Government and Law in Australia, Curriculum Corporation, Accessed: 2 March 2016.       

Law dictionaries and encyclopedias

 

ComLaw

ComLaw has the most complete and up-to-date collection of Commonwealth legislation and includes notices from the Commonwealth Government Notices Gazette from 1 October 2012.

Check out the following guide for tips on using ComLaw - a pdf document will download to your computer, click to open, and you can save a copy.

What's New on ComLaw incorporating the Federal Register of Legislative Instruments (FRLI). This page lists everything recently published to Comlaw within the last:

  • 3 months for Acts
  • 21 days for Gazettes
  • 14 days for all other material

You can also register to MyComLaw. MyComLaw makes it easy for you to stay up to date on Commonwealth law. And once you've activated your account, you can access and update your ComLaw information from any computer in the world.

Use the Help link to find out more about what ComLaw covers.

Law databases

CQUniversity subscribes to Law related databases which contain a variety of law resources, such as cases, legislation, commentaries, journals, etc. You may need to search all databases to find the information you seek.

Library Search may not be very useful for Law students looking for cases etc.  

If you require further assistance please contact the Library.

  • AustLII - Australasian Legal Information Institute
    Description: AustLII provides access to full-text legislation, case law, journals and reports for the Commonwealth of Australia and most Australian jurisdictions, courts and tribunals.
  • Australian Current Law
    Description: Australian Current Law provides access to a variety of Australian legal information including law reports, cases, legislation and judgements.
  • CCH Academic Online
    Description: CCH Academic Online provides access to a range of legal publications and resources related to subjects such as business law, tax law, corporations law, conveyancing and property law, financial planning, human resource management, industrial relations, intellectual property, occupational health and safety, privacy, sports and medical law, and family law. It includes access to the Australian Master Tax Guides.
  • Checkpoint
    Description: Provides news services, tax commentaries, analytical services, source materials and Bills and EMs for research purposes.
  • Federal Statutes Annotations
    Description: Federal Statutes Annotations provides current and historical information regarding legislative material and case law pertinent to that legislation. It brings together all information relating to the principle acts of the Commonwealth Parliament.
  • HeinOnline
    Description: HeinOnline is a source for traditional legal materials (reported cases, statutes, government regulations, academic law reviews, commercially produced law journals and magazines, and classic treatises), historical, governmental, and political documents, legislative debates, legislative and executive branch reports, world constitutions, international treaties, and reports and other documents of international organizations.
  • LegalTrac
    Description: Drawing on a wide variety of highly regarded legal publications, LegalTrac provides indexing for more than 1,400 titles including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals. Each title included in LegalTrac is selected on the basis of criteria provided by a special advisory committee of the American Association of Law Libraries. LegalTrac® also contains law-related articles from over 1,000 additional business and general interest titles.
    Endnote: Direct Export
  • Lexis.com
    Description: The Lexis.com platform provides access to US and international law resources, in particular, from the UK and other common law countries. These resources include case law, legislation and journals.
  • LexisNexis AU
    Description: The LexisNexis AU platform provides access to many Australian law resources including: Australian Administrative Law; Australian Current Law Legislation; Australian Current Law Reporter; Australian Legal Words & Phrases; Carter's Criminal Law of Qld; Carter on Contract; CaseBase Journal Articles; Civil Procedure Qld District & Magistrates Court; Civil Procedure Qld Supreme Court Practice; Cross on Evidence; Encyclopaedic Australian Legal Dictionary; Halsbury's Laws of Australia; Qld Land Court Reports; Unreported Judgements; Personal Injury Litigation Qld; various resources relating to practice areas such Corporations, Criminal, Pacific Social Justice and Property.
  • Westlaw AU
    Description: Westlaw provides access to selected journals, case law and commentaries for Australian law, as well as the FirstPoint case citation tool.
 

Improve your research and information skills

University Research and Information Skills is the Library's Moodle site.

It outlines the skills you need to become successful at finding the best information for your assessment items.

All Undergraduate students are automatically enrolled in this course, so you will find it in your Moodle course list or you can use the link above.

 

Test

Discipline Guide Feedback

Your feedback is very important to us. Please take a minute to let us know what you think about this guide so we can improve it.
1. Was this guide useful? *
Yes
No
2. Are there any resources that should be added?
3. Were there any resources included that weren't useful?
4. Any other feedback?
5. Would you like us to contact you to discuss your feedback? Please provide your name and contact details.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip