This is the "Start Here" page of the "Jazz and Contemporary Music Resource Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Jazz and Contemporary Music Resource Guide  

Last Updated: Oct 3, 2017 URL: http://libguides.library.cqu.edu.au/jazz Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Start Here Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Search

Library Search can be used to find a wide range of information sources including books, ebooks, journal articles, streamed videos and Course Resources Online. 

Use this box to start your search.

More details

Journals

The journals listed below are a sample of the journals available online via Library Search.

Use the title of the journal as your search terms.

  • Contemporary Music Review
  • Current Research in Jazz
  • JAZZed: The Jazz Educator's Magazine
  • Journal of Jazz Studies
  • Journal of Seventeenth Century Music
 

Finding Syllabuses

The Australian Music Examinations Board provides a complete syllabus and assessment program with a repertoire ranging from classical to contemporary, music theatre, jazz, rock and pop.

Whilst the library only purchases syllabuses relevant to CQUniversity courses, the most recent Manual of Syllabuses (AMEB) is shelved in the Mackay Reference Collection at S780.76 3.

Information about the AMEB and its latest publications can be located from the following website:

Australian Music Examination Board (AMEB) Online Resource

 

Music Purchasing Websites

Music databases

Most databases subscribed to by the Library are searched by Library Search. If you are not finding the results you were looking for when using Library Search you may like to search these databases individually:

  • Grove Music Online
    Description: Grove Music Online provides electronic access to the Encyclopedia of Popular Music and the New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians, plus a range of other resources, including sound files.
    Endnote: Direct export
  • Oxford Music Online
    Description: Oxford Music Online provides access to Oxford music reference products, including the Encyclopedia of Popular Music, Grove Music Online, Oxford Dictionary of Music and the Oxford Companion to Music.
    Maximum Users: 3
    Endnote: Direct export
  • Naxos Music Library
    Description: Naxos Music Library is the most comprehensive collection of classical music available online, offering complete catalogues or selected recordings of over 400 independent labels . Resources include music notes, cover artwork, tracklistings, instrumentation and publisher information, libretti and synopses of more than 700 operas, more than 40,000 composer and artist biographies, pronunciation guide for composer and artist names, glossary, guide to musical terms and work analyses.
  • Music Online: Listening
    Music Online: Listening is the most comprehensive and highest quality streaming audio collection to support the teaching and research of music.
  • Rock's Backpages
    Description: Rock's Backpages provides access to 12,000 articles, interviews and reviews from the world's best music writers and critics, from the late 1950s to the present day.
 

Finding scores

Finding scores

You will need to find various scores for your assignments and these scores are accessed through Library Search. You can search for a score by the composers name, or the title of the piece of music.  On the results page, there is an option on the left of the screen to limit by location and scores will almost all be in Mky Scores.  The record for a score will have the word 'Music' in square brackets, such as this example: -

Duke Ellington [music] : 10 Duke Ellington classics / arranged and produced by Mark Taylor

 

Finding Jazz play-a-long kits

The jazz lecturers recommend these kits as they are an excellent resource for jazz students. However, they can be difficult to find. Use the following keywords in the library catalogue to find the play-a-long jazz kits.

play-a-long jazz recording

If you know the name of the composer, you can use their name as a keyword instead of 'recording'.

e.g. play-a-long jazz davis

 

Examples of play-a-long jazz kits

Thelonious Monk/play-a-long book & stereo cd

Dexter Gordon/play-a-long book & stereo cd

Some kits have accompanying parts which are shelved at a different location, for example "piano voicings" and "bass lines".

 

Improve your research and information skills

University Research and Information Skills is the Library's Moodle site.

It outlines the skills you need to become successful at finding the best information for your assessment items.

All Undergraduate students are automatically enrolled in this course, so you will find it in your Moodle course list or you can use the link above.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip