Select an individual database to search for journal articles.
N.B. Joanna Briggs and MIMS Online are not searchable through Library Search.
- CINAHL Complete
CINAHL Complete provides full text for over 1,400 journals dating back to 1937, citations and abstracts for over 5,400 nursing, midwifery and allied health journals, and searchable cited references for more than 1,500 journals.Endnote: Direct Export
- Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases providing full-text access to evidence based practice material. It provides evidence for clinical, technological & economic decisions made by health professionals & organisations.
Free to all Australian residents.Endnote: FilterSubjects covered:
Nursing, midwifery, health
- Health Collection
Health Collection includes research articles, reports and case studies of practical support to anyone studying or working in therapeutic, diagnostic and preventative health roles, including nursing and midwifery. Topics of interest include ageing and age care, child health and breastfeeding, indigenous health issues, mental health and rehabilitation. Endnote: Filter
or Direct export
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.Endnote: Direct export
- Joanna Briggs via JBI COnNECT+
The Joanna Briggs Institute's collection of evidence-based resources and tools are designed to assist in the clinical decision making process and to support best practice. Resources include systematic reviews and protocols, recommended practices, best practices information sheets, consumer information sheets, and evidence summaries.Access:
A password is required for access. Please go to the passwords
page (Enter your student number and password to view passwords).
MEDLINE forms part of the Library's subscription to ProQuest's Health Research Premium Collection and contains over 20 million citations and abstracts. The majority of publications covered in MEDLINE are scholarly journals, however a small number of newspapers, magazines, and newsletters are also included. Produced by the US National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues and health care services.
Note: A growing number of MEDLINE citations contain a link to the free full text of the article archived in PubMedCentral or to other sites.Endnote: Filter
or Direct Export
- MIMS Online
Description: MIMS Online provides access to abbreviated and full medicines information, product images and consumer medicines information. As well as providing information for health professionals, it also provides information sheets for patients.
Subjects Nursing, midwifery, health, pharmacology, chemistry, oral health, paramedic, medical science, chiropractic
PubMed is a free service of the US National Library of Medicine providing free access to MEDLINE. It contains citations and abstracts for over 27 million articles. The full text of around 4 million, including around 170,000 open access publications may be found in PubMed Central. Subject coverage includes: medicine, biomedicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. Endnote: Direct export
- Health Business Elite
Health Business Elite provides access to full text from 490 journals. Health Business Elite provides access to comprehensive journal content detailing all aspects of health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management. Endnote: Direct export
- Health Source: Consumer Edition
Health Source: Consumer Edition contains consumer health information, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. It provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.Endnote: Direct export
- Sociology Source Ultimate
Sociology Source Ultimate covers topics on human behaviour and interaction, including gender identity, marriage and family, demographics, political sociology, religion and socio-cultural anthropology. Endnote: Direct export
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text
SPORTDiscus with Full Text provides access to sports & sports medicine journals. Topics include all aspects of human movements - biomechanics, coaching, exercise physiology, recreation & leisure, sports medicine, and sports & people with disabilities. Maximum users:
4 concurrent usersEndnote: Direct export
- Academic Search Ultimate
Academic Search Ultimate is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary database that provides access to literature on most subjects.Endnote: Direct export
- Expanded Academic ASAP
From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images!Endnote: Direct Export
Scopus is a large indexing and abstracting database providing access to scientific, technical, medical and social sciences literature. It contains records going back to the 1960s, offering newly-linked citations across a wide body of scientific abstracts.Endnote: Filter
PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. The database provides abstracts of literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, mental health, nursing, law and social work.Endnote: Direct export
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental health, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. Endnote: Direct export
The following guides may also be useful
These databases provide access to a number of relevant dictionaries, encyclopedias and other reference sources.
Type your question in the search box below or select a question from the list.