This is the "Linking Instructions" page of the "Database Linking Instructions" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Database Linking Instructions  

Last Updated: Mar 29, 2017 URL: http://libguides.library.cqu.edu.au/database-linking-instructions Print Guide Email Alerts
Linking Instructions Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Academic OneFile

Linking to resources in Academic OneFile

  1. Go to the Academic OneFile
     
  2. Locate the full-text resource you want to link to.
     
  3. At the top of the resource, look for the Bookmark icon.

    Bookmark Icon

  4. Click on the Bookmark icon and copy the full Bookmark URL, eg, http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE%7CA421371003&v=2.1&u=cqu&it=r&p=AONE&sw=w&asid=32fdef821f91215b3b8885df3000d90f

    Bookmark text
     
     
  5. Paste the Bookmark URL into the following text box


     
  6. Your final URL will be:

     

  7. To ensure copyright compliance all linked resources must open in a new browser window. Choose from the instructions below.
 

ACM Portal

Linking to resources in the ACM Portal

  1. Go to the ACM Portal
     
  2. Locate the full-text resource you want to link to.
     
  3. Click on the TITLE of the article you want (NOT the " full text" link) open it and look for the label: doi>


    DOI location for ACM resources
     
  4. Copy the full link location, not just the doi.  eg, http://dx.doi.org/10.1145/2611376
     
  5. Paste the url into the following text box

     

  6.  
  7. Your final URL will be:

     
  8. To ensure copyright compliance all linked resources must open in a new browser window. Choose from the instructions below.
 

Cambridge University Press Journals

Linking to Cambridge University Press Journal articles

  1. Go to Cambridge University Press.
  1. Locate the full-text article you want to link to.
     
  2. In the results list, right click and copy the DOI link that is displayed underneath the citation details e.g.

    location of DOI link in Cambridge Journals Online
  3. Copy and paste the link into the following text box and remove any spaces

     

  4.  
  5. Your final URL will be:

     
     
  6. To ensure copyright compliance all linked resources must open in a new browser window. Choose from the instructions below.
 

CCH Online

CCH Online

  1. Go to CCH Online
     
  2. Locate and open the document you wish to link to.
     
  3. Click the Save/Email menu and select Save link to document:


    save and email options

    CCH Copy Text

     
  4. Paste the address into the following text box

     

  5.  
  6. Your final URL will be:

     
     
  7. Links will take the user to a page showing the abstract for the article with a link to the full-text.  You might like to make a note on your course web page indicating where the link to the full-text is located.
     
  8. To ensure copyright compliance all linked resources must open in a new browser window. Choose from the instructions below.
 

Course Resources Online (CRO)

Start on the Library home page.

  1. Type the unit code into Library search on the Library home page and click Search.
  2. Find the resource you want to link to. Open the Options menu for the resource, by clicking on ... (three dots) to the right of the title.
  3. Click on Permalink to bring up the permanent link to the CRO.
  4. Copy and paste this permalink to create a link within Moodle.

To ensure copyright compliance, all linked resources must open in a new browser window.

Check our FAQs for linking instructions for Moodle, Dreamweaver, and a text editor.

Please note: if linking to an existing CRO please email TaSAC tasac@cqu.edu.au with citation details and your unit code, so links can be maintained for all units.

 

CRCnetBASE content

Linking to CRCnetBASE content

  1. Go to the CRCnetBASE platform.
     
  2. Perform your search and locate the book to which you want to link.
     
  3. If you would like to link to the whole book, click on the Permalink button and copy the url that is displayed:

    Permalink button and url display
  4. To link to a chapter, go to the chapter you wish to link to and click on the Permalink button and copy the url.
     
  5. Paste the address into the following text box
     

     

  6.  
  7. Your final URL will be:

     
     
  8. To ensure copyright compliance all linked resources must open in a new browser window. Choose from the instructions below.
 

CSIRO

Linking to articles in CSIRO

  1. Go to CSIRO Journals
     
  2. Locate the citation for the full-text article you want to link to.
     
  3. Right click on the PDF link and choose Copy Link Location (Firefox), or Copy Shortcut (IE).
    CSIRO Links
     
  4. Paste the address into the following text box

     

  5.  
  6. Your final URL will be:

     
     
  7. To ensure copyright compliance all linked resources must open in a new browser window. Choose from the instructions below.
 

EBL

Linking to books and book chapters in EBL

  1. Go to the Library Catalogue.
     
  2. Perform your search and locate the book to which you want to link.
     
  3. If you would like to link to the whole book, copy the url from the catalogue record by highlighting the url.

    EBL FullText
     
  4. To link to a chapter, click on the url in the Catalogue record to open the book in the EBL platform.
     
  5. Go to the Table of Contents tab and locate the chapter you want.
     
  6. Right click on the chapter and copy the url for the chapter.

    EBL Chapter
  7. To ensure copyright compliance all linked resources must open in a new browser window. Choose from the instructions below.
 

Ebscohost databases

Linking to resources in Ebscohost databases

This option is available for resources in the Ebscohost full-text databases.

  1. Go to EBSCOHost, select the relevant database.
     
  2. Find the full-text resource you want to link to.

    Note: Linking to articles from the Harvard Business Review is not permitted under our licence to the Ebscohost database.
      
  3. Click on the title of the resource to view its details.
     
  4. Click on the Permalink link in the Tools menu to the right of the citation and copy the url that appears in the box at the top of the record.

    Ebscohost Tools

    Ebscohost Permalink

    For example:

    http://ezproxy.cqu.edu.au/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=eric&AN=EJ861154&site=ehost-live

    Please Note: These instructions only apply to the Ebscohost databases from May 2010. Please check instructions for other databases for the correct linking methods.
  5. Copy this url to use in your course website etc.
  6. Links will take the user to a page showing the abstract for the resource with a link to the full-text. You might like to make a note on your course web page indicating where the link to the full-text is located.
     
  7. To ensure copyright compliance all linked resources must open in a new browser window. Choose from the instructions below.
 

Emerald

Linking to articles in Emerald Fulltext

  1. Go to Emerald.
     
  2. Search for the full-text article you want to link to and then click on the View HTML link from your search results.
     
  3. Above the article abstract and other information you will see a DOI link. Copy this URL by right clicking on the mouse and choosing Copy Shortcut (Internet Explorer) or Copy link location (Firefox/Mozilla).  Make sure it includes http:// so that it looks something like this:

    http://dx.doi.org/10.1108/03684920910930277

    Emerald
     
  4. Paste the address into the following text box

     

  5.  
  6. Your final URL will be:

     
     
  7. Links will take the user to a page showing the abstract for the article with a link to the full-text.  You might like to make a note on your course web page indicating where the link to the full-text is located.
     
  8. To ensure copyright compliance all linked resources must open in a new browser window. Choose from the instructions below.
 

ERIC

Linking to items in the ERIC database

The instructions for linking to full text articles in ERIC depends upon whether the item is a journal article or an ERIC document. To determine this, check the Accession Number on the record within the ERIC database.

 

Journals in ERIC have a document number starting with EJ.

ERIC Journal

 

ERIC documents have an Accession Number starting with ED.

ERIC Document

  • To link to documents, please follow the instructions below:
  1. Go to ERIC
  2. Find the document you want to link to.
  3. Click on the title of the article to view its details.
  4. Scroll down the page until you see the link to Full Text from ERIC.
  5. Right click on the link and select Copy shortcut (Internet Explorer) or Copy link location (Firefox).
  6. To ensure copyright compliance all linked resources must open in a new browser window. Choose from the instructions below.

 

More information about ERIC

ERIC provides unlimited access to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials.

ERIC indexes education journals, the majority of which are peer-reviewed.

In addition to the journal literature, ERIC indexes education-related materials from scholarly organizations, professional associations, research centers, policy organizations, university presses, the U.S. Department of Education and other federal agencies, and state and local agencies. Individual contributors submit conference papers, research papers, dissertations, and theses. These items are called ERIC documents.

 

Factiva

Linking to articles in Factiva

NOTE: There is a limit to the number of simultaneous users for Factiva.  This includes users who are linking to article level.  If all accounts are in use a lock-out screen will be encountered. If this occurs users are advised to wait at least 5 minutes and then try again.

(Unfortunately it is not possible to create links to newspaper titles in Factiva.  When using the database it is possible to browse all the articles in a newspaper by entering "sn=source name", e.g. sn=australian financial review (do not use quotation marks)).

  1. Go to Factiva.
  2. Locate the full-text article you want to link to.
  3. When you find the article, scroll to the end of the article and copy the document number shown at the end of the article.

    For example:
    Factiva Document

     
  4. Paste the string after Document into the following text box

     

  5.  
  6. Your final URL will be:

     
     
  7. To ensure copyright compliance all linked resources must open in a new browser window. Choose from the instructions below.
 

IEEE Explore

Linking to resources in IEEE Explore

  1. Go to IEEE Explore
     
  2. Locate the full-text resource you want to link to.
     
  3. Look for the link next to Digital Object Identifier.

    IEEE Link

     
  4. Right click on the link and copy the shortcut, (Copy Link Location (Firefox), or Copy Shortcut (IE))
     
  5. Paste the link into the following text box

     

  6.  
  7. Your final URL will be:

     
  8. To ensure copyright compliance all linked resources must open in a new browser window. Choose from the instructions below.
 

IGI-Global

Linking to resources in IGI-Global

 

Go to IGI-Global e-Books

Locate the full-text resource you want to link to.

You can link to the entire book or to a chapter within the book. Click on View Details to find the DOI for the book or the chapter.

IGI

Copy and paste the DOI number into the following text box and remove any spaces

Your final URL will be:

To ensure copyright compliance all linked resources must open in a new browser window. Choose from the instructions below.

 

Informit

Linking to articles in Informit

(These instructions also apply for resources in Engineering Collection; Health Collection; Humanities and Social Sciences Collection; A+ Education; APA-FT; AGIS Plus Text; Family & Society Plus)

Full-text resources indexed in Informit databases may be located either in the Informit database itself (in PDF format) or on an external website.  Only the former will require authentication through EZproxy.

  1. Go to Informit.
     
  2. Locate the full-text resource you want to link to.  Don't go to the full text just yet.
     
  3. From the search results, locate the following image beneath your chosen resource:
    Informit PDF link
     
  4. Use the right-hand button on your mouse to click on this image, and select "Copy Shortcut" -  this copies the address behind the 'Full Text PDF' image.
     
  5. Paste the address into the following text box

     

  6.  
  7. Your final URL will be:

     
     
  8. To ensure copyright compliance all linked resources must open in a new browser window. Choose from the instructions below.
 

Infotrac

Linking to articles in Infotrac

(This option is also available for resources in Expanded Academic ASAP)

  1. Go to Infotrac
     
  2. Locate the citation for the full-text resource you want to link to.
     
  3. Go to the version of the text of the resource you want to link to (HTML or PDF) and locate the Bookmark. This may appear after the citation in a HTML document or at the top left of a PDF document. Click on the Bookmark link to view the URL for the document and then copy the address that is displayed.  
  4. Paste the address into the following text box

     

  5.  
  6. Your final URL will be:

     
     
  7. To ensure copyright compliance all linked resources must open in a new browser window. Choose from the instructions below.
 

JSTOR

Linking to articles in JSTOR

  1. Go to JSTOR
     
  2. Locate the full-text article you want to link to.  Don't click on it yet.
     
  3. From the results screen copy the html address which follows the text 'Stable URL:'
     
  4. Paste the address into the following text box

     

  5.  
  6. Your final URL will be:

     
     
  7. To ensure copyright compliance all linked resources must open in a new browser window. Choose from the instructions below.
 

LexisNexisAU

Linking to items in LexisNexisAU

It is possible to link to a range of materials in LexisNexisAU, including journal articles, search forms, unreported judgements, cases, sections of Halsbury's Laws of Australia and pieces of legislation.

  1. Locate the item required and note the specific identifier for that item. The following specific identifiers should be used:

    Content TypeInformation Required
    search forms select form type from drop down list
    unreported judgements BC number
    cases case citation
    sections of Halsbury's Laws of Australia select section from drop down list
    acts or statutory rules year and number
    journal articles* journal citation
    *Note CQuniversity Library does not have access to these journals via LexisNexisAU. Access is provided via Lexis.com.
     
  2. Go to the LexisNexisAU Linking Tool and choose the appropriate type of content. Generate your link by following the instructions from this page.
     
  3. PLEASE NOTE: The Linking Tool creates urls with SPACES in them. Spaces in urls breaks them. To get around this fault, use %20 to force the coding to continue. For example (184 alr 1) has to be change to (184%20alr%201)
     
  4. Paste the address you have generated into the following text box

     

  5.  
  6. Your final URL will be:


     
  7. Links will take the user to a page showing the abstract for the article with a link to the full-text. You might like to make a note on your course web page indicating where the link to the full-text is located.
  8. To ensure copyright compliance all linked resources must open in a new browser window. Choose from the instructions below.
 

Oxford Reference Online

Linking to Oxford Reference Online

Within Oxford Reference online you can link to an entry in a dictionary or other reference work, or to the home page of a book or subject area.

Linking to an entry in a dictionary or reference work

  1. Connect to Oxford Reference Online and locate the entry you want to link to.
  2. Scroll to the bottom of the page.   There you will find the citation information for the entry under the heading "How to cite this entry".  For example:

    How to cite this entry:
    "impeachment" The Oxford Guide to the United States Government. John J. Patrick, Richard M. Pious, and Donald A. Ritchie. Oxford University Press, 2001. Oxford Reference Online. Oxford University Press. Central Queensland University. 6 September 2005 <http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/ENTRY.html?subview=Main&entry=t89.e428>


     
  3. At the end of the citation information you will see a URL.  Use this URL to create your link, NOT the link from the browser address bar.  In the example given above the URL is:

    http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/ENTRY.html?subview=Main&entry=t89.e428
  4. Paste the address into the following text box

     

  5.  
  6. Your final URL will be:

     
     
  7. To ensure copyright compliance all linked resources must open in a new browser window. Choose from the instructions below.

 

Linking to a book or subject area

  1. Connect to Oxford Reference Online.

  2. Go to the home page for the book or subject area you would like to link to. Copy the URL from your browser address bar.

    For example:

    http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t135&subject=s19

     
  3. Paste the address into the following text box

     

  4.  
  5. Your final URL will be:


     
  6. To ensure copyright compliance all linked resources must open in a new browser window. Choose from the instructions below.
 

PubMed

Linking to free full text articles in PubMed

  1. Go to PubMed

  2. Locate the article you wish to look for and view the abstract.

  3. Locate the PMID for the article, which should appear under the abstract.

  4. The base url for PubMed entries is http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/

  5. Paste the PMID after the base url to create the url to the abstract of the article.

  6. Students will need to click on the Full text button available from the top right of the screen to access the full text article.

  7. To ensure copyright compliance all linked resources must open in a new browser window. Choose from the instructions below.
 

SAGE

Linking to articles in SAGE

  1. Go to SAGE Full-text Collections.
     
  2. Locate the full-text article you want to link to.
     
  3. When you find the article, click on the Abstract link.
     
  4. To the right of the abstract you will find a section entitled DOI, e.g.:

    Sage DOI
     
  5. Copy and paste the DOI number into the following text box and remove any spaces

     

  6.  
  7. Your final URL will be:

     
     
  8. To ensure copyright compliance all linked resources must open in a new browser window. Choose from the instructions below.
 

Science Direct

Linking to resources in Science Direct

NOTE: See section 8 below for some important information about how linking to resources in Science Direct works.

  1. Go to Science Direct
     
  2. Locate the full-text resource you want to link to and click on the article title.
     
  3. Immediately above the resource title you will see a DOI (Digital Object Identifier) link for the resource, for example:
    Science Direct DOI

    NOTE: Adjacent to this link you may see another that says "Cite or Link Using DOI".  This link takes you to a set of instructions for linking.
     
  4. Use the right-hand button on your mouse to click on the DOI link described in step 3 and select "copy shortcut" - this copies the link behind the DOI (may vary if not using Internet Explorer).  Do not simply copy the DOI as displayed on screen.
     
  5. Paste the address into the following text box

     

  6.  
  7. Your final URL will be:

     
     
  8. Science Direct is a product of Elsevier Inc.  It is likely that a resource available in Science Direct will also be available in other Elsevier products. 

    Links created according to these instructions will take the user to an intermediate page when the resource is available from more than one Elsevier product.  CQU users will only be able to access the resources by selecting Science Direct.

    Links will go to the HTML version of the resource.  If you would like users to access the PDF version (assuming one is available) they can do so once they have accessed the HTML version.

    You might like to make a note on your course web page explaining these issues and indicating where the link to the full-text is located.
     
  9. To ensure copyright compliance all linked resources must open in a new browser window. Choose from the instructions below.
 

OECD iLbrary (formerly SourceOECD)

Linking to articles in OECD iLibrary (formerly SourceOECD)

 

Springer Journals Online

Linking to articles in Springer Journals Online

  1. Go to Springer Journals Online.
     
  2. Locate the full-text article you want to link to.
     
  3. Scroll down to the section About this Article to find the DOI.  For example:

    Springer DOI
     
  4. Paste the DOI into the following text box.  eg 10.1080/00291950500228279  
     
  5.  
     
  6. Your final URL will be:

     

     
  7. To ensure copyright compliance all linked resources must open in a new browser window. Choose from the instructions below.

 

 

Standards Australia

Linking to articles in Standards Australia

  1. Go to Standards Australia
     
  2. Search for the full-text standard you want to link to.
     
  3. When you find the standard, do not click on the "view document" link but rather on the title and number of the standard in the search results which takes you to the "product information" page for the standard.
     
  4. Scroll to the bottom of this page where you will see a button that looks like this: .
     
  5. Click on this button once.  In Internet Explorer you will see a message like this displayed:



    Click "OK".  The link is automatically copied.

    If you are not using Internet Explorer, clicking the link will display a web address which you can then copy.
     
  6. Paste the copied address into the following text box  
     

  7.  
  8. Your final URL will be:

     
     
  9. It is also possible to link to standards by subject.  In order to do this you need to do a "subject search" and then locate the particular subject to which you wish to link.  You can link to the subject index page in the same way in which you link to a product information page.
     
  10. Links will take the user to the product information or subject page from which there will be links to the full-text.  You might like to make a note on your course web page indicating where the link to the full-text is located.
     
  11. Please remember to logout when you have finished using Standards Australia - click on "subscription logout" and then on the "logout" button.
     
  12. It is not possible for a user to open two or more links to Standards Australia simultaneously.  Please provide instructions to the effect that users must logout from Standards Australia between each attempt to access the database using a link.
     
  13. To ensure copyright compliance all linked resources must open in a new browser window. Choose from the instructions below.
 

Taylor and Francis Online

Linking to articles in Taylor and Francis Online

  1. Go to Taylor and Francis Online.

  2. Locate the article you want to link to and view the abstract.

  3. Scroll to the bottom of the page and locate the word Link.
    T&F Link

  4. Copy this URL by right clicking on the mouse and choosing Copy Shortcut (Internet Explorer) or Copy link location (Firefox/Mozilla).

  5. Paste the address into the following text box

     
     
  6. Your final URL will be:

     
     
  7. To ensure copyright compliance all linked resources must open in a new browser window. Choose from the instructions below.
 

UpToDate

Linking to UpToDate

  1. Go to UpToDate.
  1. Locate the full-text article you want to link to.
      
  2. Copy and paste the URl from the address bar into the following text box and remove any spaces

     

  3.  
  4. Your final URL will be:

     
     
  5. To ensure copyright compliance all linked resources must open in a new browser window. Choose from the instructions below.
 

Wiley Online Library

Linking to resources in Wiley Online Library

  1. Go to Wiley Online Library.
     
  2. Locate the full-text resource you want to link to.
     
  3. Go to the required abstract.
     
  4. Under the abstract you will find a section entitled DOI.  For example:

    Wiley DOI 
  5. Paste the DOI into the following text box.  eg 10.1002/path.1711420202  
     

  6.  
  7. Your final URL will be:

     

     
  8. To ensure copyright compliance all linked resources must open in a new browser window. Choose from the instructions below.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip