This is the "Introduction" page of the "Finding scientific journal articles" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Finding scientific journal articles  

Tips on selecting and searching appropriate science databases for your assessment tasks
Last Updated: Jan 26, 2011 URL: http://libguides.library.cqu.edu.au/findingarticles Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Introduction Print Page
  Search: 
 
 
 

Welcome

This libguide is designed to help you select and search relevant science databases to find scientific journal articles.  If you need further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

If you are not familiar with the concept of journal articles, it would be useful to look at What are scientific journal articles? before proceeding with this guide.

 

What's the best way to find scientific journal articles?

There are millions of scientific journal articles.  The best way of finding the articles you need for your assignment is to use a journal database.  CQU subscribes to (pays to access) a range of science databases.  These are available online, via the library website - most of these databases are not freely accessible on the web. 

Journal databases:

  • enable you to search across thousands of journals to find articles relevant to your topic.

  • are tailored specifically to meet scientific information needs - some have been indexing the scientific literature for decades.

  • enable you to find out what research has been conducted in a particular area, and when and where it's been published.

There are a range of science databases available via CQU Library - there are differences in the subject content, and also in the level of information available.  The tab 'Where to search for journal articles' should help you to determine which database/s are relevant for the specific information you need (this will vary from assignment to assignment).

Note: you will need to authenticate your student details using your student number and e.rolment pin before accessing databases available via the library website.

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip