Health and Medical Sciences Databases

Drug reference resource providing independent, evidence-based information for Australian healthcare professionals

Collection of databases providing full-text access to evidence based practice material. It provides evidence for clinical, technological & economic decisions made by health professionals & organisations.
Free to all Australian residents.

Predominantly Australian content, including research articles, reports and case studies relevant to the therapeutic, diagnostic and preventative health fields, including aged care, mental heath, rehabilitation, child health, nursing and midwifery.

Scholarly journals relevant to a range of medical disciplines.

Evidence-based resources and tools designed to assist in the clinical decision making process and to support best practice. Resources include systematic reviews and protocols, recommended practices, best practices information sheets, consumer information sheets, and evidence summaries. Access via Ovid includes access to EBP Tools such as SUMARI, a tool for appraising systematic reviews.

Key index of the health and medical literature, produced by the US National Library of Medicine. Coverage includes research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues and health care services.

Key drug resource containing both abbreviated and comprehensive medicines information, product images and consumer medicines information. Includes Don't Rush to Crush (accessed via the Clinical Resources tab).

Resources (primarily journals) focussing on the nursing and allied health fields.

A key index of the health, medical and life sciences literature, provided by the US National Library of Medicine. PubMed includes MEDLINE, and some additional content not covered by MEDLINE.
Help: Medline, PubMed and PMC (PubMed Central): How are they different

Journals focusing on health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management.

Journal and consumer health literature on a wide range of topics.

Extensive range of journals covering the areas of human behaviour and interaction.

Sports & sports medicine journals.
Maximum users: 4 concurrent users

Comprehensive, multidisciplinary database providing access to a range of resources, including full-text peer-reviewed journal articles.

Large multidisciplinary database providing access to scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers.

Key index/abstract database covering scientific, technical, medical and social sciences literature. Includes article reference lists and citation links.
Help: Scopus LibGuide

Journal collection covering topics including emotional and behavioral characteristics, mental health, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.