eBooks @ CQUniversity Library

This guide is designed to help you find and use e-Books held by CQUniversity Library.

e-Book platforms

Accessing, viewing, downloading, printing, and saving ebooks can differ between platforms. Select the platform icon to view platform-specific details. If you are unsure which platform an ebook you are using belongs to please look at the top of the page to locate the platform icon.  If you are unsure which platform will have relevant titles for your discipline, visit the eBooks by Discipline tab in this guide.

 

Directory of Open Access Books

IGI Global

 

EBL

Informit

ScienceDirect

CRCnetBASE logo

EBook Collection

eBooks on Ebscohost

The National Academies Press

Tax and Accounting Online

 

ebrary

eBrary

OECD iLibrary

Wiley Online Library

ABC-CLIO

 ABC CLIO eBooks, mainly relating to the business and health disciplines.

Go to platform

Maximum users Unlimited simultaneous users
Access

Read online only; no download option

Printing/Copying Within copyright limits (10% or 1 chapter, whichever is greater). 
Download Not available
Highlighting & Notes Yes, when signed into personal account
Bookmarks Yes, when signed into personal account
Direct link to chapter Yes - instructions available
Software required Web browser
Online Help Online help available 
Library Search Individual titles can be found via Library Search
Mobile options Via standard web browser on mobile device

Return to top of the page

CCH Online

CCH Online provides access to a range of legal publications, including resources for business law, tax law, corporations law, financial planning, human resource management, occupational health and safety and family law. It includes access to the Australian Master Tax Guides.

Go to platform

Maximum users Unlimited simultaneous users
Access Read online, download as PDF or RTF files
Printing Within copyright limits (10% or 1 chapter, whichever is greater)
Download     Yes, each section needs to be downloaded/saved separately
Highlighting & Notes No
Bookmarks No
Direct link to chapter Yes - instructions available
Software requirements Web browser
Online Help Online help available 
Library Search Individual titles are not found via Library Search 
Mobile Via standard web browser on mobile device. Not suitable for small devices.

Return to top of the page

CRCnetBASE

CRCnetBASE provdes access to ebooks on accident investigation, environmental science, ergonomics, occupational health and safety, water management.

Go to platform

Maximum users Access varies by title. Most titles provide for 1 or 2 concurrent users.
Access Read online, download as PDF files
Printing Within copyright limits (10% or 1 chapter, whichever is greater)
Download Yes, CQUniversity users may "electronically save portions of the licensed works"
Highlighting & Notes Yes, can highlight and add notes when the document is saved and opened in Adobe Acrobat.
Bookmarks Yes
Direct link to chapter Yes - instructions available
Software requirements Web browser, Adobe Acrobat Reader
Online Help Online help on using the advanced search is available.
Library Search Individual titles can be found via Library Search
Mobile Via standard web browser on mobile device or via CRCnetBASE Mobile

Return to top of the page

Dawsonera

Dawsonera provdes access to ebooks in a number of disciplines, including e-Books published by Human Kinetics.

Go to platform

Maximum users Single user titles: unlimited concurrent users, but with a fixed number of accesses per title per year. Access ceases once the limit has been reached.
3-user titles: 3 concurrent users, no annual access limits
Access

Read online: It is recommended to use the "display PDF in browser" setting in the browser. You can only print or copy using the Read Online option.

Download Yes, DRM restrictions apply. You can choose to access offline for 1-7 days. Printing from downloaded copy is not available.
Printing/Copying Use the Print and Copy boxes to check how many pages are available.  Print/copy possible in the Read Online option only. 
Highlighting & Notes Yes after creating a personal profile account
Bookmarks Yes after creating a personal profile account
Direct link to chapter Yes - instructions available
Software requirements Web browser, Adobe Acrobat Reader
Online Help Online help is available.
Library Search Individual titles can be found via Library Search
Mobile options Via standard web browser on mobile device. Not suitable for amall devices.
Additional Information This website uses cookies that are essential for full access to the e-Book.
Read the privacy notice before clicking I agree.

Return to top of the page

DOAB

DOAB aims to increase the discoverability of Open Access books and provides access to over 1300 books in multiple languages covering many disciplines. Academic publishers, including a number of university presses, have provided records for their Open Access books.

Go to platform

Note: Open Access platform, login not required.

Maximum users Unlimited simultaneous users
Access PDF download
Printing Able to print for educational purposes.
Download Yes, download PDF files of entire e-book
Browser compatibility Access through various web browsers
Highlighting & Notes No
Bookmarks No
Direct link to chapter No
Software requirements Web browser, Adobe Acrobat Reader
Mobile Via standard web browser on mobile device

Return to top of the page

EBL

EBL

EBL provides access to a large and constantly growing multidisciplinary collection of ebooks. 

Go to platform

Maximum users Unlimited simultaneous users
Access Read online; download as PDF or ePub (on selected titles)
Printing

Within copyright limits (10% or 1 chapter, whichever is greater). Individual titles have different print restrictions.

Only downloaded titles can be printed/copied The number of pages you can print will be displayed once you click download.

Download Yes, individual titles may restrictions
Highlighting & Notes Notes can be added once the book is on loan or downloaded.
Bookmarks Yes
Direct link to chapter Yes - instructions available
Software requirements Web browser; Adobe Acrobat Reader is required to read books online, Adobe Digital Editions is required to download EBL books to read offline. 
Online Help FAQ available within the platform.
Library Search Individual titles can be found via Library Search
Mobile

via standard web browser (not recommended on small devices)

Downloaded e-books can be read via the free Bluefire Reader app

Downloaded EBL ebooks can also be transferred to any portable ebook reader that supports Adobe Digital Editions (ADE). There's a list of these compatible devices on the ADE website.

Return to top of the page

eBooks at Ebscohost

Ebscohost's eBook Collection provides access to a large and constantly growing multidisciplinary collection of ebooks. 

Go to platform

Maximum users Usually 1 user but it can vary for individual books.
Access Read online; download as PDF or ePub (if available)
Printing

Within copyright limits (10% or 1 chapter, whichever is greater). Individual titles have different print restrictions.

Create a loan to print and/or copy. The number of pages you can print will be displayed.

Download Yes, individual titles may have restrictions. Loan period choice of 1-3 days. See instructions.
Highlighting & Notes Notes can be added upon login to MyEbscohost (personal account)
Bookmarks Yes, when logged inot personal account.
Direct link to chapter Yes - instructions available
Software requirements Web browser; Adobe Acrobat Reader is required to read books online, Adobe Digital Editions is required to download books to read offline.
Online Help FAQ available within the platform.
Library Search Individual titles can be found via Library Search
Mobile

via standard web browser (optimised for mobile interfaces)

Downloaded e-books can be read via the free Bluefire Reader app

Downloaded EBL ebooks can also be transferred to any portable ebook reader that supports Adobe Digital Editions (ADE). There's a list of these compatible devices on the ADE website.

Additional Informaiton A number of features to help with accessibility are available. Ebscohost also provides information about accessing e-books using Apple devices using Bluefire app.

Return to top of the page

Ebrary

Ebrary provides access to a large multidisciplinary collection of ebooks.

Go to platform

Maximum users Usually 1 user but it can vary for individual books - the book's toolbar will note either 'Limited-user title' (1-3) or 'Unlimited-user title'.

If a title is in use, once another user has accessed a few pages they will receive an alert stating "You are currently in preview mode", and further options.  For more details, see ebrary's Access to Documents: 'Queuing and access to single-user (SUPO).
Access

Read online using Quickview - HTML format (no additonal software required), Download as PDF or ePub (if available). 

Printing
(in general)

60= maximum number of pages copied / printed / saved as PDF image per book, per user session. 

Note
:

  • Use ebrary's InfoTools, Copy or Print options, rather than your browser options.)
  • 60 pages is the maximum total across all options - you cannot combine all three for a total of 180. (Some titles may not allow printing/copying/download).
  • Limits are reset at the beginning of a new session.
  • Some publishers impose more restrictive limits, including CQ Press, Duke, Elsevier, Wiley, Taylor & Francis.
  • The maximum number of pages able to be printed is not displayed - the number shown refers to the default number (60).
Download

 A personalised account is required  to download e-books. Loan period is 7 days for single user items and 14 days for multi-user items. See instructions.  (Items can be 'returned' early.)

Note:  Some publishers prohibit full-document downloads of their titles. For details, please see ebrary's List of publishers.

Highlighting & Notes Yes(when signed in to your personal account)
Bookmarks Yes (when signed in to your personal account)
Direct linking Yes - instructions available
Software requirements Adobe Digital Editions is required to download books to read offline.
Online Help Online help is available within the platform.
Library Search Individual titles can be found via Library Search
Mobile options

Via standard web browser (optimised for mobile interfaces) .Mobile apps are also available for Apple and Android devices. Books can also be downloaded using apps listed on the Downloading e-Books page

Additional Features

See ebrary’s Accessibility options for visually-impaired users

Return to top of the page

IGI Global eBooks

IGI Global eBooks provides access to the e-Book collections Business, Administration and Management Technologies and InfoSci-Security Technologies as well as other titles.

Go to platform

Maximum users Unlimited simultaneous users
Access Read online only
Printing Within copyright limits (10% or 1 chapter, whichever is greater)
Download Yes, individual chapters can be downloaded as PDF files.
Highlighting & Notes Can highlight and add notes when document is saved and then opened in Adobe Acrobat.
Bookmarks Yes
Direct link to chapter Yes - instructions available
Software requirements Web browser, Adobe Acrobat Reader
Online Help Online help available 
Library Search Individual titles can be found via Library Search
Mobile Via standard web browser on mobile device

Return to top of the page

Informit

Informit Full Text Collections contain Australian literature including journal articles, ebooks, conference proceedings and reports.

Go to platform

Search tips

This platform provides access to numerous types of literature including journal articles, reports and ebooks. To limit your search to e-Books, add the following search option:

Maximum users Unlimited simultaneous users
Access Read online; download chapters as PDF files.
Printing Individual chapters have no printing restrictions.
Download Download individual chapters as PDF files.
Highlighting & Notes Yes, notes can be added to PDF files using Adobe Acrobat.
Bookmarks No
Direct link to chapter Yes - instructions available
Software requirements Web browser
Online Help Online help is available within the platform.
Library Search Individual titles can be found via Library Search.
Mobile Via standard web browser on mobile device

Return to top of the page

National Academies Press

National Academies Press

The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health, capturing the most authoritative views on important issues in science and health policy.

Go to platform 

Note: Open Access Platform, login not required.

Maximum users Unlimited simultaneous users
Access Read online; download PDF
Printing No restrictions
Download Yes, either after creating an account or as a guest. See download information.
Highlighting & Notes No
Bookmarks No
Direct link to chapter Yes You can use the URL to an individual chapter.
Software requirements Web browser, Adobe Acrobat Reader
Online Help Online help available 
Library Search Individual titles can be found via Library Search
Mobile Via standard web browser on mobile device

Return to top of the page

OECD iLibrary

OECD iLibrary is OECD's Online Library for Books, Papers and Statistics and the gateway to OECD's analysis and data. Access is available for titles published from January 1998 onwards.

Go to platform

Maximum users Unlimited simultaneous users
Access Read online; download as PDF files.
Printing Individual chapters have no printing restrictions.
Download Download the entire book as a PDF files. Note: File size is listed beside the link to PDF. Some e-Books have a large file size.
Highlighting & Notes Yes, notes can be added to PDF files using Adobe Acrobat.
Bookmarks No
Direct link to chapter Yes - instructions available
Software requirements Web browser; Adobe Acrobat Reader
Online Help Online help is available within the platform.
Library Search! Individual titles can be found via Library Search
Mobile Via standard web browser on mobile device

Return to top of the page

ScienceDirect

Science Direct provides access to full text and bibliographic information for a wide range of electronic books across areas including social sciences, science, technology and medicine.

Go to platform

Maximum users Unlimited simultaneous users
Access Read online; download as PDF file
Printing Individual chapters can be printed
Download Individual chapters can be downloaded as PDF files.
Highlighting & Notes Notes can be added to bookmarks. A personal account must be established to access the Notes and Bookmark features.
Bookmarks No
Direct link to chapter Yes - instructions available
Software requirements Web browser, Adobe Acrobat Reader
Online Help Online help available 
Library Search Individual titles can be found via Library Search
Mobile Via standard web browser on mobile device, Mobile apps are also available for Apple and Android devices. 

Return to top of the page

Tax and Accounting Online

Tax and Accounting Online provides news services, tax commentaries, analytical services, source materials and Bills and EMs for research purposes.

Go to platform

Off campus access: A password is required for off campus access. Please go to the passwords page (You will need to log in to view passwords).

On campus access: Click on the IP users link.

Maximum users Unlimited simultaneous users
Access Read online
Printing Within copyright limits (10% or 1 chapter, whichever is greater)
Download/Save Yes, Click on Export and save as HTML web page.
Highlighting & Notes No
Bookmarks Yes
Direct link to chapter No
Software requirements Web browser
Mobile Via standard web browser on mobile device

Return to top of the page

Wiley Library Online

Access to various Wiley publications.

Go to platform

Maximum users Unlimited simultaneous users
Access Read online, download PDF files
Printing Individual chapters can be printed.
Download Individual chapters can be downloaded as PDF.
Highlighting & Notes Yes, save document and open in Adobe Acrobat to use Highlight and Notes tools.
Bookmarks Yes
Direct link to chapter Yes - instructions available
Software requirements Web browser
Online Help Help FAQs available
Library Search Individual titles can be found via Library Search
Mobile Via standard web browser on mobile device

Return to top of the page