Database Searching

How do I know if the full text is available in the database I am searching?

Each database is a little different. Most databases have links to the full text from the search results list. Occasionally you may need to open the record for the resource to get to the full text options.

The most common full text formats are PDF and HTML. The PDF version looks like an electronic photocopy of the document. The HTML version looks like a web page.

There are a number of different icons and text links that indicate full text access. Below are some examples of these.

Click on the text link or icon in the record or results list to open the full text.

The Find Full Text button

This Find Full Text button appears in some databases where the full text is not available. It links back to Library Search. Click the button to see the Library Search record for a resource. It will tell you if it's available online or in one of our campus libraries. If it's available online, there will be links to the database/s it is available in.

Researchers

CQUniversity Library supports CQUniversity researchers by providing an Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery Service which aims to provide researchers with access to the information sources which the Library does not hold.

Eligible researchers include:

• full-time and part-time academic staff who contribute to the research output of Central Queensland University
• students enrolled in a higher degree research program, PhD, EdD, Doctor of Business, Masters by Research or Professional Doctorate.

Please see the Library's Document Delivery guide for more details.

Honors students and students doing assignments for their units

Students enrolled in undergraduate, honours and coursework masters programs can contact the library via tasac@cqu.edu.au, or book an Ask a Librarian session to get help finding alternate sources.