Finding Psychological Tests and Measures

This guide provides information on locating psychology tests and measures.

Test directories

Test directories can be searched for information about published psychological tests. Directories usually include background information about tests (i.e. purpose, creator, structure) as well as information concerning their publication (i.e. publisher, date of publication, cost, availability for purchase.) Some may include evaluations of the test.

Note: Test directories do not provide access to the tests themselves.

The Library provides access to both online test directories and in print test directories.

Test directories available online

This list of resources provides information about psychology tests online. Access to the tests themselves may not be available online.

Mental Measurements Yearbook This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive guide to contemporary testing instruments; contains information required to evaluate test products across a range of areas including psychology, education, business, and leadership.

Test Link (Educational Testing Service (ETS) Test Locator)
Searchable database which lists more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices from the early 1900s to the present.
Test Reviews Online
Searchable database containing information as it appears in the Mental Measurements Yearbook, minus the evaluations.
Note: You could search for tests using this database, and then access the full-text evaluations in print at CQUniLIBRARY.
Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences
The "Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences" (TMSS) is an index to tests and measurement tools.

Test directories available in print

Search for the titles of these resources in Library Search on the Library home page.

Mental Measurements Yearbook - No.6 (1965) - No.16 (2005)
MMY contains information about specific psychological tests. Each test is described and evaluated by two independent reviewers. CQU Library holds Volume 6 (1965) to Volume 16 (2005) in print at the Rockhampton campus library.
Ostrow, A.C. (Ed.) (1996). Directory of psychological tests in the sport and exercise sciences. (2nd ed.). Morgantown, WV: Fitness Information Technology.
Sweetland, R.C. & Keyser, D.J. (Eds.) (1991). Tests: A comprehensive reference for assessments in psychology, education, and business (3rd ed.). Austin, Texas: Pro-Ed.