This is the "Start Here" page of the "Built Environment Resource Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Built Environment Resource Guide  

This guide is designed to give students undertaking a Building or Construction program an overview of the resources available.
Last Updated: Nov 29, 2016 URL: http://libguides.library.cqu.edu.au/built-environment Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Start Here Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Search

Library Search can be used to find a wide range of information sources including books, ebooks, journal articles, streamed videos and Course Resources Online. 

Use this box to start your search.

More details

Journals

The journals listed below are a sample of the journals available online via Library Search.

Use the title of the journal as your search terms.

  • ACI Structural Journal
  • Building and Environment
  • Building Design
  • Civil Engineering and Environmental Systems
  • Construction and Building Materials
  • Design News
  • Structural Design of Tall and Special Buildings
  • Structural Safety

Australian Standards

For help in locating the Australian Standards site and how to search for standards, please follow this link.

CQUniversity students have access to Australian Standards, an online collection of all AS, AS/NZ and AS/NZ/ISO standards. Some international standards have been adopted by Australia and these can be indentified by the AS/NZ/ISO prefix. If access is available to these standards they will be identified in the Standards Australia database by the "View Online Here" icon.

The Library does not provide access to other international standards such as British (BS), German (DIN), European (EN) or International Organization for Standardization (ISO). The Standards Australia database may list these standards in a search result list but those unavailable will be identified by a "Buy Now" icon.

To access Australian Standards site, please follow the link below.

  • Standards Australia
    Description: Australian Standards Online allows you to view, and in most cases, print any current Australian Standard. This service is only available to CQU students and staff for use related to their CQU study or research. No International Standards are covered by our subscription
    Maximum Users: 6 concurrent users PLEASE MAKE SURE TO LOG OUT ONCE YOU HAVE FINISHED YOUR SEARCH SESSION
    Conditions: The licence for this database does not allow for the electronic transmission of files, including sending by email.

Relevant databases

Most databases subscribed to by the Library are searched by Library Search. If you are not finding the results you were looking for when using Library Search you may like to search the databases linked below individually:

  • Environment Design Guide Online
    Description: The Australian publication, Environment Design Guide, provides access to peer-reviewed papers about built-environment sustainability. It includes case studies and glossaries.
    Password: Password required for off campus access. Please go to the passwords page (You will need to enter your student number and password to access this page).
  • Westlaw  
      
    Description: Westlaw provides access to selected journals, case law and commentaries for Australian law, as well as the FirstPoint case citation tool.
  • Ecospecifier
    Description: Ecospecifier is a knowledge base of over 1000 environmentally preferable products, materials and resources.
  • National Construction Code of Australia
    Description Produced by the Australian Building Codes Board (ABCB). Volume 1 Contains the requirements for multi-residential, commercial, industrial and public buildings. Volume 2 Contains the requirements for residential buildings. Volume 3 Contains the plumbing and drainage requirements for all classes of buildings. From 2015 this title is available freely online once you sign up for an account through Australian Building Code Board.

Engineering resource guide

The Engineering Resource Guide provides information and links to the key resources in the engineering discipline.

Professional bodies

 

Improve your research and information skills

University Research and Information Skills is the Library's Moodle site.

It outlines the skills you need to become successful at finding the best information for your assessment items.

All Undergraduate students are automatically enrolled in this course, so you will find it in your Moodle course list or you can use the link above.

 

.

Discipline Guide Feedback

Your feedback is very important to us. Please take a minute to let us know what you think about this guide so we can improve it.
1. Was this guide useful? *
Yes
No
2. Are there any resources that should be added?
3. Were there any resources included that weren't useful?
4. Any other feedback?
5. Would you like us to contact you to discuss your feedback? Please provide your name and contact details.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip