This is the "Start Here" page of the "Australian History Resource Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Australian History Resource Guide  

A guide to finding resources for students studying Australian History courses.
Last Updated: Nov 27, 2016 URL: http://libguides.library.cqu.edu.au/australianhistory Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Start Here Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Search

Library Search can be used to find a wide range of information sources including books, ebooks, journal articles, streamed videos and Course Resources Online. 

Use this box to start your search.

More details

Online reference sources

To find a quick fact or to gain a broader understanding of the topic.

Journals

The journals listed below are a sample of the journals available online via Library Search.

Use the title of the journal as your search terms.

  • Australian Aboriginal Studies
  • Australian Journal of International Affairs
  • Australian Journal of Politics and History
  • Australian Journal of Social Issues
  • Journal of Australian Studies
  • Social Alternatives

National and State Libraries

The national, state and territory library sites provide access to their own useful collections and resources, and to unique items of interest.  These libraries can provide a range of resources which are not available through CQUniversity Library. Check their websites for information on how to join.

Australian History databases


Most databases subscribed to by the Library are searched by Library Search. If you are not finding the results you were looking for when using Library Search you may like to search these databases individually:

  • JSTOR
    Description: JSTOR provides access to scholarly literature from the Arts and Sciences Collections I, II and III. The content includes literature from arts, humanities, economics, history, political science, archaeology and sociology disciplines.
    Endnote: Direct Export
  • Newspaper Source Plus
    Description: Newspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 601,300 television and radio news transcripts, videos & podcasts.
    Endnote: Direct export

Radio & TV

The Australian Broadcasting Corporation (ABC) produces many excellent history-related programs.

 

Improve your research and information skills

University Research and Information Skills is the Library's Moodle site.

It outlines the skills you need to become successful at finding the best information for your assessment items.

All Undergraduate students are automatically enrolled in this course, so you will find it in your Moodle course list or you can use the link above.

 

Test

Discipline Guide Feedback

Your feedback is very important to us. Please take a minute to let us know what you think about this guide so we can improve it.
1. Was this guide useful? *
Yes
No
2. Are there any resources that should be added?
3. Were there any resources included that weren't useful?
4. Any other feedback?
5. Would you like us to contact you to discuss your feedback? Please provide your name and contact details.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip